Book Review – Him (Him #1) – Sarina Bowen & Elle Kennedy

Like everyone else who reads Romance, I’m a huge Elle Kennedy fan. The way she writes seems so effortless, its a joy every time I read her books. So I went googling and found Him. MM! Look up ‘Fate’ and you’ll understand why this is exactly that. I was looking for an MM book, I was in an Elle Kennedy book fog and then I found Him 🙂

Him is the story of Wes, an Ice Hockey player who happens to be gay. Wes fell in love at 13, with his best friend Jamie who he met at a Hockey camp. Just so happens that Jamie is straight. Wes wanted Jamie so bad he coaxed him into a bet. A dare if you will. Things got awkward and they haven’t spoken for 4 years. They see each other again at a game and all the old feelings come rushing back, Jamie has no clue why he lost his best friend and he wants to find out. Wes has Jamie back and he just can’t lose him again. And so their story begins 🙂

I’ll start with a disclaimer. I do not watch Ice Hockey. I know nothing about the sport. In fact while writing my review I kept wondering if you call it a match or a game… but that doesn’t matter because I didn’t need to know anything about the sport. I learned quite a bit though… but that’s not why we’re here. We’re hear because this book was hot! I mean these two… wowza! I loved how laid back Jamie was. I loved how well they just fit. I loved the sweet ache of it all.

Our mouths fit together so perfectly. Every time we kiss, I fall even more in love with him, and it has nothing to do with sex or lust. It’s him. His closeness and his scent and the way he soothes me. My life has been chaotic for as long as I can remember, and I always dealt with it alone. My parent’s criticism, my confusion over my sexuality. But for six weeks every summer, I didn’t have to be alone. I had Jamie, my best friend, my rock.

See? This book made me MELT!

I mean, a gay and a straight guy storyline is nothing revolutionary but it was done so well. I  felt their emotions and their struggles and every time they called each other ‘babe’ I melted a little more. It was that sweet a book. Nothing too angsty, nothing too emotional… just a nice quick addictive read.

I’d never read a Sarina Bowen book but these two writing together was pure magic. It just worked. Sometimes when you read a book by two authors you can tell their distinct voices which kinda sucks. But not with these two. The book was sweet and witty and so so hot!

Definitely recommended for anyone who wants the kind of read you can’t put down. The kind that makes your heart melt and puts one of those silly love sick smiles on your face. It was exactly what I needed… and the end?

I look up and find him in the mob, and it’s like the sun just came out. It’s only been an hour since I saw him last, but he has the same damn effect on me every time.

I’m not sure what’s going to be in the sequel. I’m kinda scared all this bliss is about to be interrupted… but I can’t wait!

4.5 stars!

Amazon Buy Link -> Him by Sarina Bowen and Elle Kennedy

Click on the book cover below to read a FREE sample straight off Amazon!!!

him

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, New Adult and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review – Him (Him #1) – Sarina Bowen & Elle Kennedy

  1. Pingback: Book Review – Us (Him #2) – Sarina Bowen & Elle Kennedy | Jessy's Book Club

  2. Pingback: Book Review – Bittersweet (True North #1) – Sarina Bowen | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a comment