Book Review – Bittersweet (True North #1) – Sarina Bowen

I read Him, I LOVED it, so of course I went out seeking more Sarina Bowen books. When I received Bittersweet I only had to look at the cover and I was sold. Because, beards! 🙂

Bittersweet is the story of Audrey and Griffin. Audrey has graduated from Culinary School and dreams of being a top chef. She’s an intern at a huge cooperation in Boston and instead of having her work in the kitchen, they have her doing all sorts of odd things – like going out to Vermont to buy produce. In Vermont, the first farmer Audrey runs into is none other than Griffin, her former college hook up. They have chemistry, that’s undeniable. But Griffin has a huge family relying on him, and Audrey’s dreams are in Boston.

I’ll start out by saying that Bittersweet was an incredibly sweet story. I loved both characters and even more so the secondary characters. It was well written and witty and an easy fast read. However, my apprehension had already begun when I realized this would be Contemporary Romance. As anyone who reads my reviews probably knows, I’m not a huge fan of the genre. I know, I know, I should just avoid it from now on. I love Paranormal and Urban Fantasy because the world building takes you to places beyond your imagination, I love Romantic Suspense for the danger, I love Erotica for the steam, I love New Adult for the angst… I just do not have this intense love feeling for Contemporary Romance. It’s like every day life with beautiful people. No real ups, no real downs… just a flat line that is sweet but not exciting.

And I will say that for a genre I don’t particularly enjoy, it was not a chore to read this book. It was sweet and at times sexy. But there was a lot more lacking for me to get excited. The character building for example, Audrey and Griffin are just not memorable. They were okay characters but they will not be the kind of characters I remember 50 books down the line. The story line was also quite predictable – as, in my opinion, Contemporary Romance tends to be. I knew where it was going and even though I didn’t expect any surprises, I still hoped for some angst, just to make me feel.

The end of the book came as a surprise to me. That was the unexpected bit. And even though it was like a sweet summer read, I think when it came to an end it hit me that not much happened in the book and that was disappointing. Loose ends were tied up too neatly, then there was a segue for the next book in the series and then… fin.

Sigh, I will not be accepting Contemporary Romance books from now on. It would be doing a disservice for those who enjoy the genre and follow my review because I just cannot seem to enjoy it.

2.5 stars.

Amazon Buy Link -> Bittersweet by Sarina Bowen

bittersweet

I’d like to thank the author for providing this copy for my review.

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Review – Bittersweet (True North #1) – Sarina Bowen

  1. lilyakasuz says:

    You have worded my sentiments on my preferred genres perfectly!

    • So glad we agree! Please tell me your favorites as I’m currently looking for an amazing read 🙂

      • lilyakasuz says:

        London Miller and Bethan-Kris’ have been my go to authors at the moment. Their Mafia / Bratva books are my latest obsession 🙂
        Watching the calendar for the next Reapers book which should set me back on a MC/ Biker binge.

Leave a Reply

