Book Review – Deceptive Innocence: Part 1 – Kyra Davis

I’m a HUGE Kyra Davis fan. Her Just One Night series was the perfect mix of smart and sexy, so I knew this one would be right up my alley. But whoa! She’s outdone herself in this one… flawless writing, intrigue, suspense, steam… first 5 star read of the year!

Deceptive Innocence is the 3 part story of Bell. Bell’s mother and only family, was framed for murder by the powerful Gable family. Since then, Bell has been focused on one thing and one thing only, revenge. Determined to bring the Gable family down, Bell seduces her way into Lander Gable’s bed – the family’s youngest son. Lander is sexy and privileged, but clearly has a dark side. Bell is determined to figure it all out, and exact her revenge… what she doesn’t expect is how good she feels in Lander’s arms.

Gone are the days when I was just a hapless victim in someone else’s story. Three years ago I started writing a new story. I wrote myself as a character into a story of revenge and retribution. The other characters will see me the way I want them to because I’m the one holding the pen. This is my narrative, damn it! I decide how the story goes, I set the pace, and I decide how and when it all will end. But every time Lander touches me… it’s almost like he takes control of the pen. Like he’s writing the story with me. And when he touches me, he sees me. Not the character, but the author behind the paper.

Wow! What a book! I’m not sure where to begin to explain it’s brilliance. So I’ll just hit you with everything I loved about it. I felt as if I was watching a movie… you know, when your heart is beating like a bongo drum and you’re so engaged you never want it to stop? That was me. And what I loved about it was that it didn’t feel overdone… The steam was so so sexy I was literary melting. The build up to the suspense, just right. And the ending – pure brilliance.

The thing with Kyra’s writing is that it’s smart. It’s not just steam for the sake of it, or drama for the sake of it. She incorporates so much more than your average Erotic Romance novel. I felt as if I was re-reading my favorite history books, like War and Peace… only sexier 😉 I can just picture her with a board mapping out every little detail, so that perfection is not just an aim, it’s attained.

I felt Bell’s need for vengeance, even championed it. I’m dying to figure out the motives for the murder… who was in on it… but more so, I’m dying to figure Lander out. He’s intelligent… sees more of Bell than she’d like… ah, the mystery of it all!

Just, go out and buy this book, you won’t regret it!

5 stars!

Amazon Buy LinkDeceptive Innocence Part 1 by Kyra Davis

deceptive

 

I’d like to thank the author and Pocket Star for providing this ARC for my review.

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Review – Deceptive Innocence: Part 1 – Kyra Davis

  1. Pingback: Rants and Raves – of Authors, ARCs and Reviews… | Jessy's Book Club

  2. Pingback: Book Review – Deceptive Innocence: Part 2 – Kyra Davis | Jessy's Book Club

  3. Pingback: Rants and Raves – Of Must Read Books… | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a comment