Book Review – Black Hearts (Sins Duet #1)- Karina Halle

I absolutely enjoyed the Sins and Needles series which is why I jumped at the opportunity to review this new (but related) duet by Karina Halle.

The story is told ‘some years’ after the events of Sins and Needles. The characters are actually the children of the Sins and Needles characters. We have Violet, Ellie and Camden’s daughter, and Vicente, Javier’s son. So Violet has always found her parents a bit strange. She’s always thought there’s something about them not completely right. When she finds an anonymous letter detailing the death of a grandfather she always thought was dead, her suspicions are confirmed.

Around the same time, in Mexico, Vicente is dying to get out from under his father’s thumb. Yes, he knows he’ll have to lead the Cartel one day, but all he wants to do now is to go far away and live life a little. When he discovers love letters from his dad to an American woman, he’s convinced he has to find her. However, in San Franscisco, he first meets Violet. While she could be a means to an end, she ends up being so much more.

Getting closer to Violet was never part of the plan. But now that I’m staring at her, I’m wondering what her skin feels like, if I could be able to hold her wandering attention and calm her agitated heart.

I was originally so excited to get my hands on this book but my excitement quickly waned. To be completely honest I haven’t taken so long to read a book as I did with this one. It was quite obvious where the storyline was headed towards and there was little to keep my excitement going. The story felt very flat. I would read a chapter, sleep, go about my day, read another chapter and so on and so fourth. It was the kind of story I knew I would forget as soon as I was done. I read an apt description of this kind of book before, that it’s like cotton candy – as soon as you’re done it melts away from your tongue’s memory. Couldn’t have said it better.

When we finally got to the steamy scenes, I got more excited. They were, let’s say light BDSM, but they were good. I read so many sex scenes in a week so at this point if a scene actually catches my attention then I know it’s well done. But that was the only saving grace to the book. It felt hurried. As if the author had this story she wanted to tell but she had many others and only spared some little time for this one. It’s not that it was not good, it’s just that it could have been much much better. It ended up being more on the forgettable side for me.

2.5 stars.

Amazon Buy Link -> Black Hearts by Karina Halle

I’d like to thank the author for providing this copy for my review.

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, Dark Romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

