Book Review – The Knight (Endgame #2) – Skye Warren

“You’re the object of my depravity, the target of every dark wish… I won’t be satisfied until I’ve marked every inch of you, inside and out.”

“Then why did you let me go?”

“Ah, little virgin,” he says gently.”So that I could chase you.”

I felt very lucky that I could jump right into book #2 after finishing book #1. Luckier still because Skye Warren is one of my favorite authors so I knew I was going to get something good.

The Knight is the continuation of Avery’s story. She auctioned her virginity, finally slept with Gabriel Miller but once he was done with her, he sent her away. Now Avery is living in a motel with a prostitute for a neighbor. And as she waits to receive the one million dollars from Gabriel, far more interesting things are happening. For one, she’s starting to dig into her parents’ past. Gabriel is in her head making her doubt her father, so she needs to find out once and for all what happened to her mother. There’s also the fact that she still might lose her house. Oh and that she can finally admit her attraction to Gabriel.

That’s the thing about a knight whose armor shines.. It’s never been in battle. Never been tested. Tarnished black armor like Gabriel’s – that’s where strength lies.

This was a good book. I honestly don’t expect anything less from Skye Warren. But she has written great books and I was hoping this one would be one of them. It wasn’t. There was the time crunch for added thrill, there was the missing diary for added suspense and there was sex – all the things I love in a book. But here’s the thing, my favorite kind of suspense and thrill is when neither I, nor the protagonist, know what’s about to happen. Not because the protagonist refuses to learn the truth or delays the truth, but because there is just no way anyone could expect what happens next. I’m not a fan of the kind of suspense created just because the protagonist keeps postponing it. This was exactly what happened here. I hated that she just allowed Gabriel to dictate things – he takes the diary and she hardly fights for it. Basically she gave him everything without much fight and that irked me.

I know it’s wrong to want a man who ruined my family, wrong to desire a man who purchased my body. He humiliates me just to prove a point. How can that be sexy? Except he does so with such skill that I can’t help but respond, such power that my body falls under his thrall in some evolutionary equation.

Sigh. I mean, I could see why she was so intrigued but I wished she had more of a backbone. And plus, so many things didn’t make sense to me. It sometimes felt orchestrated just to create suspense. That said, there were definite highs. The best being the steamy scenes. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, for illicit/dark steam, you have to go to Skye Warren. She does the best scenes.

All in all, good, not great. And if there’s a book about Harper and Christopher, I’ll be the first one in line for it 🙂

3 stars.

Amazon Buy Link -> The Knight by Skye Warren

knight

I’d like to thank the author for providing this copy for my review.

 

This entry was posted in Dark Erotica, Dark Romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

