Book Review – One Hot December – Tiffany Reisz

Tiffany Reisz is a god amongst mere mortals. Fact. Her Original Sinners series is pure perfection. Fact. I, like anyone else I know who’s read her books, is in love with her writing – her wit and her ability to infuse the darkest tales with such light and humor. So when I saw this book, I immediately snatched it up and read it in a day and a half.

What’s it about? Veronica Redding is a welder and an artist. People have nicknamed her Flash, after Flashdance 🙂 Flash is in love with her boss Ian Asher. Flash and Ian slept together but then Ian dumped her. So now Flash is intent on making Ian regret that decision. And regret it he does. Ian wants Flash but can’t have her when he’s still her boss. So when Flash quits, Ian get the perfect opportunity to pursue her.

I should have already told from the cover and the Harlequin logo that this would be one of those sweet short holiday reads. The kind that introduced me to the romance genre when I was a teenager. Having read a million books since then, I should have stayed away from this one, but it was Tiffany Reisz, so I went in anyway.

The problem with these short Harlequin reads is that the backstory is never fully explored. It is told to us in a few short paragraphs. The love is instantaneous and I felt as if I walked into the story halfway and someone caught me up very quickly. Also, they end pretty fast and everything is tied up very neatly. I’m just not a fan of this concept. I like angst, I like when characters bleed for each other. I love it when characters have to work hard to get to the happy ending. There was none of that here. If you’ve read The Original Sinners, then you know just how much the characters have to fight for happiness.

Another thing is that I’m drawn to Tiffany Reisz’ books for three reasons. I read these books for the wit, the pain and the unconventional nature of the story. I’ve admittedly come to associate Tiffany Reisz with those three things. So when I read this book, I expected the wit (and I got it), I expected pain and that something extra. I unfortunately did not get that. I got a conventional short story that I suppose is meant to be read at Christmas around the fireplace with a cup of hot chocolate. All well and good but just not Tiffany Reisz to me.

That said, it is a sweet story meant to warm your heart around my favorite holiday. It’s classic contemporary romance with a bit of BDSM thrown in. We have a strong heroine (wouldn’t expect anything less from Tiffany Reisz) and a handsome good hero. We have humor and steam which is my perfect combination. I think that if it had been written by any other author I might not have expected so much out of it. But maybe if it had been written by any other author I wouldn’t have picked it up in the first place.

3 stars.

Amazon Buy Link -> One Hot December by Tiffany Reisz

one-hot

I’d like to thank the publisher for providing this copy for my review.

 

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

