Book Review – Blood & Roses Series – Callie Hart

I might be the last person in the world to read this series, but just in case I’m not, here is why I loved it so much and why you should buy it immediately.

First of all, I had actually read Deviant book #1 in the series when it was a freebie on Amazon. I loved it. In my review, I lamented that I wished it was longer, but that I couldn’t wait to read more. But as it happens with short stories, you read so many you lose track. Then one day I see the entire box set is out and for 99c! Had to have it. Yet again as anyone with having a 1-click addiction will tell you, we buy a lot of books, particularly while they’re on sale, which leaves us with hundreds of books in our kindles. So months later, I’m trying to decide what to read, I have one criteria, dark(ish), incredibly steamy and hopefully, has an amazing storyline to go with it. I stumbled across the Blood and Roses thumbnail on my kindle and stopped. So so glad I did!!!

So the boxset contains all 6 books, that’s over 800 pages! It sounded daunting at first, but the longest book I’d read prior to this was 600+ pages of brilliance, so… not so daunting after all. It took me 3 weeks to read this one (full-time job, second blog, baby, husband…) but it was the most incredible 3 weeks of book reading. So let’s get to the synopsis.

Sloan Romera is looking for her younger sister Alexis. She pays an undercover investigator to do the work. The investigator, a shady fella, tells Sloan that she will have to have sex with some guy in exchange for information. Sloan agrees to it, despite all that she’ll lose in the process, it will be worth it to find her sister. Needless to say, she doesn’t get the information she needs. She does however have the most incredible sexual encounter of her life.

Some years pass and Sloane is still looking for her sister. And it turns out her only hope might be the guy she slept with. See, Sloane is a doctor, and a good girl. She knows nothing about the seedy underbelly of Chicago. She needs someone who does. Zeth Mayfair. And that’s how they’re thrown back together, fighting the mafia, biker gangs, getting shot at and indulging in their attraction to each other 🙂

Let’s start with the steam – SCORCHING! I mean, these two were something else. Zeth is dark and dangerous and into BDSM. Sloane is sweet and his complete opposite in everyday, so it was all about Zeth taking charge and wowza. Sometimes when you read an incredibly long book you find that the sex scenes are too few and far between. Or you could go ahead and buy an erotic short where it’s one sex scene after the other. I find that I love the in-between. That in-between is hard to achieve but Callie Hart did it.

Then the suspense or the grittier side of the book. What I loved most was that the author didn’t hold back in making Zeth the anti-hero. Maybe anti-hero isn’t the exact word but you read a lot of these romance books with dark heroes who from the very beginning start to reform. Or who are never really that dark so the reader can always find ways to find him redeemable. Not Zeth. Seth is a mafia enforcer. He kills for a living. So yes, the book had violence, and murder. Half the time I felt like I was watching an episode of The Sopranos.

Then the writing. It flowed. It was beautiful and it was witty. The thing with serials is that most of the time you read them one by one with some weeks going in between the next release. The biggest problem for me as a reader and as a reviewer is having to remember where I left off. This was the first time I read a full collection of serials all at once. My biggest worry then became that I would notice the disconnect. That the author would veer off the plot between one serial and the next, or forget a crucial detail and leave it unresolved, but not this author. It read as a complete novel. And that I commend Callie Hart for. That she also tied in those lose ends, that she excited me from begin to end. It’s no mean feat.

And last but not least, the love. I absolutely loved that it wasn’t some instalove kind of thing. It was gradual and it was well done. And when a man like Zeth starts falling…

… her arms lace around my neck, clinging onto me, my heart starts thumping in my chest. It’s like it’s been lying dormant in my chest, gathering dust the past thirty-three years and this is the very first time it’s properly beating.

But of course it takes some time. It takes some mistakes and some learning but in the end, I loved how meant to be they were. Nothing could beat that.

An incredible story. Wonderfully written. It got my heart racing, I cried sometimes, I laughed out loud, I swooned… It had everything I love in a book.

5 stars!

Amazon Buy Link -> The Blood and Roses Series by Callie Hart

blood

 

 

This entry was posted in Dark Romance, Erotic Romance, Romantic Suspense and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review – Blood & Roses Series – Callie Hart

  1. Pingback: My Favorite Books of 2016 | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

