Book Review – In the Absence of Light – Adrienne Wilder

Best MM book I’ve ever read. But even more than that, definitely top two of my favorite books ever. Ever. I’m not even sure where to begin describing how this book made me feel. I read it in two weeks while I normally read a book in 3 days max. Thing is, I put it down because it made me feel so many emotions all at ones – things I haven’t felt before. It made me re-evaluate myself in a way I haven’t done before. And while I put it down, it never left my mind. I had discussions with my husband about this book. With my friends. With myself. Thought provoking and perfect in a way many books in this genre aren’t.

So what’s it about? Grant is in the smuggling business. Basically straddles the line between legal and illegal. But there are things he won’t do. And when he realizes that his job is leading him towards that direction, he retires. He wants to wait until the FBI loses interest in him so he can finally use his money to retire somewhere close to the beach. In the meantime, he moves to a nowhere town called Durstrand. In Durstrand Grant meets Morgan. Morgan is severely autistic so even though Grant is attracted to Morgan, he keeps away. Grant, like most people, doesn’t know how to deal with a severely autistic person. He is also 12 years older than Morgan, so he wants to do the right thing… or what he thinks is the right thing, and leave Morgan alone. Morgan however, is not having it. He is attracted to Grant and he is determined to show him.

So part of why this book was so superior to others I’ve read is because the author chose an incredibly tough topic, but wrote it with such insight and humor. I loved that Morgan was funny and cheeky. That his character made me re-evaluate how I look at autistic people. I have never read a character quite like him. I mean it’s an erotic book so he was also incredibly hot but also… I can’t find a description that does him justice. But in Grant’s words…

…a gorgeous man who would never be normal. Not because of the autism, but because he was too extraordinary.

Yup. That’s our Morgan. But then in comes Grant. A man with a past, an ex who is also an FBI agent. A man looking to disappear but discovers the love of his life in the most unexpected of places. I loved that Grant saw Morgan’s perfection. That he looked past what he could see and saw what most don’t.

“No way to put into words how he made me feel. How touching him connected me to the world. How tasting him breathed life into my lungs. How I hadn’t been alive until the moment I saw him and even then I’d resisted, afraid of what I’d felt, fighting what I feared. How I thought I knew what love was only to realize, standing in front of him, I knew nothing.”

Sigh. And you know what else I loved? That the book also had that element of mystery… the whole FBI story-line that was everything I look for in Romantic suspense, yet, I can’t quite place this book in that genre. It has erotic scenes that will have you reaching for your fan, it has humor, it has suspense, it has the kind of angst that makes you bleed. It had everything I love in a book. And it was not only just right,it was perfection.

I’m annoyed at myself because such a perfect book requires a perfect review. I can’t do it justice. I just can’t. You have to read it to see why it’s competing with Broken as my favorite book of all time. PURE PERFECTION.

5 stars!

Amazon Buy link -> In the Absence of Light by Adrienne Wilder

in the

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance, MM and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review – In the Absence of Light – Adrienne Wilder

  1. Pingback: My Favorite Books of 2016 | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

