Book Review – Broken Prince (The Royals #2) – Erin Watt

I was lucky enough to have an advance copy so I could dive right in after Paper Princess. In short, it was quite entertaining… Perhaps even more so than the first…

We return to the Royals right where we left off. Brook has ran away and Reed is going out of his mind. But that’s all I can say at this point since we were left with a cliff hanger and nothing bores me more than when reviews sell out the plot. I will say that we finally get alternating POVs. In fact, a huge part of the book is Reed’s POV. I mean Ella is gone so someone has to tell us how the Royals are getting on. But more than that we feel Reed’s hurt and his depth of feelings for Ella. Now, as much as I loved getting to know Reed, I missed Ella’s mind. She’s tough, a fighter, so I loved being in her mind much more than I did Reed’s.

I will also say that I enjoyed this one a bit more. Especially after we got Ella’s POV. Also, I somewhat shed the ‘these are teenagers having sex!’ mindset. I mean, I am a mother now so for some reason this weirds me out as I doubt I would be as blasé as Callum is with his kids, but well. So I was thourougly entertained. It was also a very fast read for me. BUT, I will still say that there’s nothing very earth shattering about the series. It’s still a bunch of spoilt kids pranking each other and having too much sex. Ella is definitely the best part of the book as she’s different but… Well… There’s a big but.

I suppose this one is just marketed for a specific audience and I’m just not part of that audience. I mean, it was entertaining… Like a soap opera can sometimes be entertaining but just like a soap opera, you will do some eye rolling and come across some ‘Come on! He didn’t just buy that load of crap!’ moments. And just like soap operas, there will be a cliffhanger that makes you begrudgingly tune in the next time.

It is still witty and still an easy summer read by the beach… But I personally won’t be tuning in for the next episode. Of course there was a cliffhanger and I do want to know how all this ends but I think it’s time to admit that the cons outweigh the pros for me. I’m also not very thrilled that its a trilogy – I’ve come to be wary of those.

Sigh. In the end, entertaining, but just not for me.

3 stars.

Amazon Buy Link -> Broken Prince by Erin Watt

broken

I’d like to thank Nina and the authors for providing this ARC for my review.

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, Young Adult and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

