Book Review – Paper Princess (The Royals #1) – Erin Watt

I’m a huge fan of Elle Kennedy. Her Off Campus series is exactly why I read the New Adult genre. So I devoured her books and found out she’s co-authored an MM series, devoured and LOVED that one as well. Then I learned that she co-authored this book (with Jen Frederick under the name Erin Watt) and I had planned to be all over it. Until I read the blurb and it seemed to be all about spoiled teenagers. Since I’m neither, I decided to skip it. But then I saw all the reviews and I thought, I’m judging a book by its cover (blurb)? So I decided to give this a go.

This is the story of a 17 year old Ella who is putting herself through high school by stripping. Her mom, a former stripper, died of cancer leaving her with nothing more than a name to let her know her complete parentage. Ella is struggling, until a man shows up at her high school announcing that not only is the dad she never knew dead, he, Callum Royal, is her new guardian. Ella fights it but is eventually dragged to the Royal household. Callum is super rich and has 5 sons who all take an immediate dislike to Ella. Ella doesn’t mind it much because she wasn’t planning to stay anyway. But Callum makes her a deal she can’t say not to. Plus, one of the sons is proving to be another incentive to stay.

I admit to being immediately drawn to the story. I think I was expecting a Mean Girls/Clueless kind of story – rich mean people and a not so strong love arc. I’ll be the first one to admit to being a huge fan of both Mean Girls and Clueless (and Cruel Intentions, which it has also drawn comparisons to) but I’m no longer a teenager and I avoid YA like the plague, so I wasn’t expecting to love this. Did I love it? No. But I quite liked it. I mean, teenagers being sexually active is nothing new, its just not something I’m going to enjoy reading.

So I didn’t fall in love with the story, but I liked it for what it was. One, the heroine was quite endearing. She was strong and stood up for herself. The mean girls and boys I could have done without, because it wasn’t anything new. I enjoyed the writing, it was witty. I haven’t read Jen Frederick but I really love Elle Kennedy’s wit, in her books and in any other book she’s co – authored. So while I felt weird about the steamy scenes between the teenagers ( I donno, I just do) I kept on reading because the writing was easy and clever.

Now the most intriguing bit was the cliffhanger – it was unexpected. It’s against my better judgement to go on with the series but I can’t let that cliffhanger go… sigh. It has happened before that I’ve loved a sequel 100 times more than the first book in the series so I’m hoping that’s what ends up happening here.

3 stars.

Amazon Buy Link -> Paper Prince by Erin Watt

paper princess

I’d like to thank the amazing Nina and the authors for providing this copy for my review.

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, Young Adult and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review – Paper Princess (The Royals #1) – Erin Watt

  1. Pingback: Broken Prince (The Royals #2) – Erin Watt | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

