Book Review – Stay Until We Break (Hub City #2) – Mercy Brown

I could not love this book more! I have been lucky enough to read a lot of 5 star books this year but this goes right on top of that list. The best thing about this book (and there are a lot of amazing things) is that Mercy Brown knows the Indie Rock scene. She didn’t just sit and think ‘rockers are in, I’ll write a book about them’, no. She knows the life in and out and that’s why her voice is so authentic.

Stay Until We Break is Sonia’s story. You might remember Sonia as EmmyLou’s best friend who is also managing the band Soft. Sonia has always been into Cole, Soft’s bass player. But Cole is every girl’s fantasy – hot, in a rock band… so yeah, he has women throwing themselves at him.

“The only problem with having Cole McCormack as your chronic masturbation fantasy is that he’s everybody’s chronic masturbation fantasy—and he knows it.”

Only Cole seems to also be into Sonia. But Sonia has never had a boyfriend so she doesn’t really know what’s what. Now, Soft is going on a road tour and there is no better time for some hanky panky 🙂 Only Cole has a secret, this is his last road tour. He can’t continue dreaming for their band’s big break because he has a sister and a mom back at home who need looking after. He knows girls love the rock star thing, no girl, least of all Sonia, is going to want to settle down with a plumber. And that’s where their story starts 🙂

I actually have no negatives to report. This book was hilarious, authentic and steamy. I loved reuniting with the band and getting to learn more about the rock scene and all their adventures. I honestly cannot get enough of these characters. They’re so real. They’re the kind of people I would want to hang out with – playful, hilarious, sweet… and it doesn’t hurt that the men are hot 🙂

And while everything, and I mean everything about this book was 5 star worthy, I cannot get enough of the writing. I never ever say this, but I might have to be BFFs with Mercy Brown. I was laughing so hard.

We follow him through the throng of dancing party people, some in various states of undress, like this chick in a backwards baseball hat who’s dancing to “Closer” in a pair of Adidas basketball high-tops, a pink lace bra, and a pair of baggy jeans being held up with a flannel shirt tied around her waist. Joey just happens to stop right next to her, and she wiggles for him, then grabs the crotch of his Levi’s like it ain’t no thing, and I don’t know what’s more priceless, the look on his face or on hers once she registers the horse-sized kielbasa he’s packing inside those happy-face boxer shorts.

See what I mean? Ah I love her writing! And let’s not forget how loud Emmylou is during sex.

“Ohhhh, Trrraaaavisss… Oh! Oh!… Fuccckkk” Emmy is bellowing from somewhere in the campground, her voice echoing across the lake like a crime victim’s.

*Insert teary laughing emoji* I absolutely loved this, I just can’t imagine a better book to be honest. Because not only was it witty… it was also steamy…

“What else did you imagine?” His voice is low and rough and oh so fucking sexy. “Tell me what happens next.”

“You already know,” I whisper. “All the very good and very wrong things”

“I want to hear you say it.”

“Okay, you fuck me until I forget my own name.”

“Wrong,” he says, “I fuck you until the only name you know is mine.”

Sigh, Cole Cole Cole! Even sexier than Travis!

And then I swooned, because not only was Cole sexy, he was also so so so freakin sweet!

Let me tell you about the very good, very wrong things. First of all, the very good things. The absolute best thing – Sonia. Those bright blue eyes, the way her hair smells, and the way her smile lights up my world. The way she makes me feel like a king when she comes, calling my name so everyone in Tennessee can know it. The way her skin turns to silk in my hands, draws me in and makes me warm, all the way down to my soul. She’s sunshine, all right. Brightest light of my days.

Sigh. Everyone needs to read book! EVERYONE. It needs to top that NYT list because it is so very deserving. I highlighted so many places, I paused to read it out loud to my hubby and even he was laughing out loud. (I say even him because he only reads non fiction and is quite high and mighty about it, but he also really got into this story.)

So yes, another one for my ‘favorite of all time’ list, and another author crush solidified.

5 Stars!

Amazon Book Link -> Stay Until We Break by Mercy Brown

stay

I’d like to thank the author for providing this copy for my review.

Series reading order… 

loudstay

 

 

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, New Adult, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review – Stay Until We Break (Hub City #2) – Mercy Brown

  1. Pingback: My Favorite Books of 2016 | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

