Book Review – A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) – Sarah J. Maas

Wow, hands down favorite book of 2016! Everything about it is pure brilliance – the story, the story telling, the characters, the surprises… just… stunning. And the best thing about it? 600+ pages of it!

I was initially worried, 600+ pages? I had skimmed book #1 which I felt was composed of high highs and low lows. So needless to say I was worried it would be more of the same. How wrong I was! There’s no better joy for a reader than to read all night and realize you haven’t even hit the 50% mark and you have more and more and more of this amazing story to go 🙂

So I’ll try to make this review as spoiler free as possible. It begins with Tamlin and Feyre, now free from Amarantha but still struggling with the memories of the horrors that took place Under the Mountain. Tamlin is worried about Rhy’s bargain and he’s vowed to protect Feyre at all costs. Which mostly starts costing him. Because Feyre is not happy – she is starting to feel suffocated. And so when Rhys comes to collect, she might, just might heave a sigh of relief. Only it’s Rhys, the High Lord of the Night Court who everyone fears. But could anything be worse that being locked up in the Spring Court?

“He locked you up because he knew – the bastard knew what a treasure you are. That you are worth more than land or gold or jewels. He knew, and wanted to keep you all to himself.”

The words hit me, even as they soothed some jagged piece in my soul. “He did – does love me, Rhysand.”

“The issue isn’t whether he loved you, it’s how much. Too much. Love can be poison.”

Sigh, very true Rhys! Staying true to my spoiler free review will be hard because a lot of what happens happens quite early on. I will say that we do get what I had been craving from the beginning – a love triangle. And it is done so so good. I mean, I liked Tamlin, he just wasn’t exciting. Rhys gives us all that and more. I was swooning the entire time!

And what is done so well, one of the many many things done so extremely well, is the slow burn. There are no hasty sex scenes, and even though I’m an erotica reviewer who loves steamy scenes, I just fell for that slow simmering burn… it just felt good to want where it was going, to know that caution was key, to know but wait… because even with knowing, when we finally got there it was just so so so freakin good!

And then there was this amazing amazing adventure that the author takes us on. A world building like no other. I could see it all laid out so amazingly. I think thats the best thing about Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy… that it takes you out of your comfort zone. And when done well, it blows you away… and this one did just that. It was so well thought out. There are things that happen that take you back to book #1 and you think, oh, so that’s why he said/did that! Making you realise the author planned all this from the first word in the first book – just incredible.

And if all this couldn’t win my heart, the underlying feminist themes would. I love when a woman claims her man. I love when a woman is given free rein… and you would think duh, its the 21st century… but this genre usually has these strong Alphas while the heroines are not very memorable. Sarah J. Maas was clearly out to change that. Maybe she does that with all her books, I wouldn’t know because I’m new to her writing. All I know is that Feyre is the hero of this book.

And with the love triangle you might wonder who I was rooting for, and while I don’t want to tell you who Feyre chooses, I will tell you, Rhys remains my man. He was so much more than I expected. He was everything.

He said softly, “I love it when you look at me like that.”

The purr in his voice heated my blood. “Like what?”

“Like my power isn’t something to run from. Like you see me.”

Yup. We get a sensitive Rhys. I mean, sexy, strong yet sensitive. What more could a girl want?

“I’m thinking that I look at you and feel like I’m dying. Like I can’t breathe. I’m thinking that I want you so badly I can’t concentrate half the time I’m around you, and this room is too small for me to properly bed you. Especially with the wings.”

Gah. My heart! Sigh.

What else do we get? New characters. Lucien was my second favorite in Book #1 but this one introduces much more kick ass characters, Mor, Cassian, Amren, Azriel… and I loved that we got not just secondary characters, but the kind of deeper character building where you know you would definitely read books solely based on these characters.

And after all that excitement, and adventure and heartache and love beyond anyone and anything…

Love – love was a balm as much as it was a poison.

Bring on Book #3 please!

5 stars! Infinity stars! Favorite book of 2016, and a love affair between me and Sarah J. Maas is born.

Amazon Buy Link -> A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

mist and fury

Series Reading Order

thorns and rosesmist and fury

This entry was posted in Paranormal Romance, Romantic Suspense and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review – A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) – Sarah J. Maas

  1. Pingback: My Favorite Books of 2016 | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

