Book Review -Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changeling #1) – Nalini Singh

I continuously shout that I’m a HUGE paranormal romance fan, but I feel like a hoax now for having never read any Nalini Singh PNR book. It’s not like they haven’t been recommended to me before, but it’s very daunting to start book #1 out of 15. This week I was in a book slump and I thought you know what, get a Nalini Singh book and see if you agree with all the critical acclaim. Spoiler alert: I do! Boy, what world building!!!!

But first, a synopsis…

Sascha Duncan feels defective. It’s not a word you normally associate people with but she’s not human – she’s Psy. The Psy do not feel. They operate mechanically and that’s what makes them strong. But Sascha feels. She can’t let anyone know or they’ll rehabilitate her which is a fate worse than death. So she hides it from everyone, and especially from her mother who is in the Psy Council and wouldn’t bat an eye if she were to be forced into rehabilitation.

Her mother however, a strong Council member, wants to work with the Changelings – the shape shifters. She appoints Sascha to work with the Alpha of the Leopards Changelings – Lucas Hunter. They’re immediately drawn to each other, but Sascha shouldn’t feel anything let alone lust. And so their story begins 🙂

I downloaded a sample and after the first page I knew I had to get the book. It was that simple a choice. From the first page you know this is a world worth knowing. The author’s voice is engaging enough but for me it was the need to know these creatures – the Psy and the Changeling. There’s a mystery interwoven which added more to the thrill of the read.

I hate it when I solve the mystery before the reveal or before the unsuspecting heroine but this was not such a book. I honestly had no clue till the reveal. But also I was kept so busy trying to figure out if Sascha could survive without the Psy and if she could let herself fall for Lucas. And Sascha was no unsuspecting heroine. i loved that she kept Lucas on his toes and that she was strong.

Of course I fell for Lucas. If I don’t fall for an Alpha then there’s something really wrong with the alpha in question. Lucas was hot, he was protective and of course, he had that bit of torment that made him appealing on another level. Did I wish for more steam? Yes. I have read enough Paranormal Romance to know that they don’t contain as much steam. I don’t read Paranormal Erotica where sex is on every other page. I love the world building, dare I say more than I love the steam. Which is weird because I review Erotica and beautifully done Erotica is just… everything… BUT yes, with PNR, it’s not about the steam for me.

That’s not to say I want it devoid of any steam, no. I want steam and there was steam here… especially in the first half of the book. I wish it was slightly more but that didn’t take away from my enjoyment of the book. I loved the world building, I loved the strong hero and heroine and I loved it enough to get book #2.

A new addiction is born!

4.5 stars!

Amazon Buy Link -> Slave to Sensation by Nalini Singh

slave

Click to read a free sample

This entry was posted in Paranormal Romance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

