Book Review – A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas

I get days when I’m craving a good paranormal romance and there’s nothing better than to discover an author who you’ve never heard of before but has such an amazing following and five star reviews everywhere you look. And what a weird reading journey I had with this one! But first a synopsis.

Feyre’s family used to be rich, but now her family is close to starvation with an ailing father and two sisters who do nothing but moan about every little thing. Feyre is their sole bread winner. By that I mean she actually goes hunting for their family, sells some of what she hunts and single-handedly tries to save them from starvation. Then one day she kills a wolf, and her troubles begin. A beast, the wolf’s friend, enforces an age old treaty between the Faeries and humans and drags Feyre to the magical land of the Fae. For killing the wolf, Feyre has to live in the Fae world forever.

But as it turns out, the beast is actually a gorgeous immortal Fae called Tamlin. There’s no love lost between these two, but something starts to develop and Feyre starts discovering new untold things about the Fae land. Something is very very wrong, and Tamlin has to save his people. Maybe these two are more alike than they thought.

So my reading journey was a weird one. The beginning was really slow for me – I was intrigued but I could put the book down. The middle had its high moments but I also started skimming because it was all brimming with too much detail. So the entire time I was trying to decide whether to give up on the book.. but I love solving mysteries so much I couldn’t just let this one go. Then the end, wow. I almost convinced myself to give the book a high rating based on the ending alone.

Think of this book as a Hunger Games meets a Shakespearean tragedy. It had a slow build to it but for 416 pages, it was too slow (read: a bit boring) for me. Then Feyre, a mortal, gets tasked with saving the immortals and she turned into Katniss and I was back to being intrigued. But as much as the last chapters were the highlight for me I couldn’t help but feel as though I’ve seen it all before. Not because the story wasn’t unique, just a little formulaic.

Also, there was that instalove business. I don’t read much of the hate to love kind of story-lines so I’m not sure how long it takes for the emotions to shift but this one was so instant I got whiplash. Ok, so that’s hyperbole, it wasn’t that fast, but it was still faster than I expected it to be. I usually don’t mind instalove, but there’s always something at the back of my mind that reminds me how unbelievable the story-line is.

Yet at 99% I was wondering when the next book would be out. And this is why. Feyre isn’t my favorite heroine ever but she wasn’t a bad one. Tamlin was gorgeous and definitely loveable, but again, nothing too memorable. Lucien and Rhys on the other hand.. man! The author should write spinoffs on these two. Though I do know that there’s more of Rhys to come… possibly a love triangle and that’s why I’m really inclined to read the sequel. yup. These two were the highlight of the story. Maybe I love that they weren’t the good guys but that they did good things. Unlike Tamlin who was loveable from the start, these two were more conflicted. And of course, we don’t know what Rhys sees in the end… gah!

I should say there’s no cliffhanger per se, just some loose ends that I am slightly curious about. But the fact that the next book is over 600 pages worries me. I’m not sure I can sit still for another super slow build.

3 stars.

Amazon Buy Link -> A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Click on the book cover below for a free sample!

court

 

This entry was posted in Paranormal Romance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Book Review – A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas

  1. Great review – I bought this book because I really wanted to read anything by Sarah J. Maas but I didn’t want to jump into the Throne of Glass van-wagon. I am probably going to read this but I’ll go about it with an open mind having read your review. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Book one was just “good”. It was a slow build, and I did not “feel” the love between Tamlin and Feyre, but I was interested enough that I tried book 2. I am so glad that I did. I loved the H, and book 2 totally captured my attention. Anyway, I really enjoyed the improvements in book 2, and will definitely read book 3.

    • I have the sample which I haven’t started yet but good to know you enjoyed it! It’s the next book on my list 🙂

      • Anonymous says:

        I just saw your review of book 2. So glad you felt the same way I did! Its crazy how much better book 2 was, right? I am really looking forward to book 3.

  3. kenchireads says:

    I just finished reading ACOTAR and I’m super Excited to read ACOMAF. I also made a book review on ACOTAR it doesn’t look as good as yours but hope you can check it out.

  4. Pingback: Book Review – A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) – Sarah J. Maas | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

