Book Review – Luckiest Girl Alive – Jessica Knoll

Best book I’ve read all year! This one will definitely stay with me.

I bought it for the same reason many did, it was compared to Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn and didn’t we all just LOVE that one?! For those wondering about that comparison I’ll tell you this. Imagine Mean Girls, Devil Wears Prada and Gone Girl made a child… this would be it. Weird comparison I know, you probably think, hmm, I like fries and I like ice cream but I don’t want the two mixed together… you’re wrong. Well, you’re right about the food, but wrong about the book. It worked. Boy did it work!

So what’s it about? Well it’s one of those books you can’t say too much about because it’s the kind the reader needs to experience for themselves. But without giving much away, TifAni FaNelli has a glamourous job at a top women’s magazine, is about to get married to a handsome incredibly rich guy… a far cry from the teenager she was. TifAni went to the prestigious Bradley school where something terrible happened. It haunts her, but while people might think that’s her biggest secret, there’s more. Much more. And the truth just might be about to come out.

I took a deep breath, that old desperation flaming in me like a pull on a cigarette. It makes me capable of things I don’t want to be capable of, and if I don’t watch myself with militant supervision, my blade could very easily slip, cut Luke too deep, sever me from the life I’ve worked so hard to assemble.

So if you follow my blog you might think this is out of the realm of books I normally read. It’s not. It’s only out of the realm of books I review. I prefer erotica, I mostly go for Indies, but this one called to the side of me that devoured John Grishams and James Pattersons and Jeffrey Deavers. The side that wants a bit more thrill and less sex 🙂

Initially I rolled my eyes quite a bit. I don’t read women’s magazines, I’m not all that much into fashion, so all the girly female stuff was lost on me. That’s the Devils Wears Prada comparison I made. In the first two chapters I still wasn’t sure about the book. Then we get to the Mean Girls period of the book and again I thought, ok, this might not be my cup of tea after all. All spoilt rich kids making lives hell for each other. Rich kids who grow up to be such shallow people.

THEN, the awful happened. And I felt so hard, I couldn’t imagine putting the book down.

It felt so much farther than that. Like another dimension, like a life of someone else who I felt sorry for now. She had been so naive and unprepared for what was to come, it hadn’t just been sad. It had been dangerous.

You just get blindsided when you finally get the reveals. That was the best part. I was reading it thinking, ok, if you watch the news then you’ve seen this happen in that school and this happen in that other school, and maybe the book is just an amalgamation of a lot of real life tragic events. But as much as I had that part of me telling me that, I couldn’t get past how witty and well written it all is. The characters so well rounded you feel like you know each and every one of them. Despite the fact that I wouldn’t know such people in real life.

By the end of the book my heart went THUD. I’m not sure I can explain why. I was blindsided by some things, sure. But most of them were not new things. Yet… the storytelling. That’s it. It’s how the events and the reveals happened. It’s how well it’s done that got me. In the end I thought, wow, brilliant.

I’ll be thinking about this one for a long time to come.

5 stars!

Amazon Buy Link -> Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll

Click on the cover below to read a sample!

luckiest

This entry was posted in Thriller and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review – Luckiest Girl Alive – Jessica Knoll

  1. Pingback: My Favorite Books of 2016 | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

