Book Review – Breaking Him (Love is War #1) – RK Lilley

I honestly cannot imagine any way this book could be more perfect! It was everything I wanted and needed it to be…and then some. It’s not just the storyline (which is unique and amazing), it’s how its written. It’s the emotions I felt reading it, everything umped to the n-th degree. I was one huge ball of emotion from start to end. I read it fast because I couldn’t put it down. Then I read it slow because I couldn’t bear the thought of it being over. The thought of waiting for the sequel… sigh… I want to buy a ticket to the US and lock RK inside a room till she finishes writing this sequel!

But anyway, a synopsis. Scarlett hates her ex. She refers to him as The Bastard. He is the love of her life. And one of the reasons she hates him is that he remains the love of her life.

“No one would ever know me like he did. Understand and indulge the darkness and the lightness in me. The good and the bad. The strong and the weak. Take all the parts of me that were toxic and soothe them with the perfect antidote. We had all the ingredients of forever love.”

He was her first and only love. Theirs was truly one for the books… tragedy included. And yes, tragedy does happen and these two end up hating each other. Every time they meet they engage in the fiercest battle of wills.

“When our eyes clashed, and everything, every horrible , wonderful, painful, ugly, beautiful, torturous, ruinous, gory bit of us came back to me. It was bad enough when I didn’t have to look at him. But when I did – exquisite torment, with a touch of pleasure so concentrated, so brutally pure it had ruined my life. Broken my heart. Eviscerated my soul.”

And even though they’ll never acknowledge it, they relish their meets.

“It was the sweetest torture, the most delightful torment, to let the man that had ruined me for joy bring it back into my body for one brief instant.’

It sounds like your typical ex story, only it’s not. Their story is told to us in the present and the past. We get to see how they meet, how they fall in love, how they stay in love.

“The problem with us was that he and I had become deeply attached in our formative years. Young me had become essential to young him and vice versa. We were too precisely built together, each too profoundly shaped by the other. Every part of us had been assembled as one piece. Of course we did not function well after the construct had been ripped violently apart.”

But what we don’t know is what causes their split. We get hints, we get glimpses, but in the end, it’s one huge puzzle that the reader slowly puts together. And my heart was beating hard the entire time. Every time something new was revealed, every time a hint was dropped, I went crazy trying to solve the puzzle, and in the midst of all this I couldn’t imagine a more perfect love story.

Yes, there’s a lot of hate and hurt and everything in between. But you get to understand how that can happen, how wounds like those can be left to fester. But everytime these two came together I melted. It was just so destructive and intense and passionate. I loved it. And their past – don’t get me started on their past. For something so tragic, it could not have been more beautiful. Dante, the bastard, was everything, everything! The way he stood up for Scarlett, the way he fought for her, the way he loved her. He has definitely catapulted to the top of my will-remember-forever list. And here’s a little secret, this took me back to my first ever boyfriend. The little, erm, ‘let’s call them experiements… they made me smile because they were so reminiscent of my past but also because they all just rang true.

I guess that is what this book did, it rang true. It wasn’t just well written, it had heart. From the hero and heroine who you can’t help but identify with, to the secondary characters (oh Gram!) who you can’t help but adore. I just fell in love with it from the first word to the last. I’m even sure I let out an unintentional whimper once I tried to swipe to the next page only to realize the book was over. sigh.

I have another tidbit for you, RK Lilley’s Up in the Air series book #1 and #2 were the first books I reviewed on this blog. In fact, her books could be credited to why I started the blog. Like any other blogger, I followed a book reviewer who took forever to discover RK and that annoyed me. I wanted to scream about the Up in the Air books and decided if I couldn’t scream with others then I’d do it on my own. And let me tell you this is vintage RK mixed with a new even better RK. How that’s possible, don’t ask me. But it’s pure perfection.

I need book #2 now!

5 stars.

Amazon Buy Link -> Breaking Him by RK Lilley

breaking
This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Book Review – Breaking Him (Love is War #1) – RK Lilley

  1. JP says:

    Jessie,
    Didn’t I tell you it was amazing? ??? I am so glad you read it. It’s a really different take on the childhood romance story. Everything you wrote I totally agree with. I absolutely loved the flashbacks, they were so sweet (in the Dante and Scarlett kind of way). I cannot wait for book 2. I think it’s coming in February, at least I hope. I have so many theories about what happened. But I believe to my core that Dante is a good guy and does everything to protect Scarlett just like he promised gram!!

    • I’m definitely reading everything you recommend from now on! It was amazing! I’m not even sure my review dos this book justice! I hope book 2 is out soon, I can’t bring myself to read anything else 😦 and I’m with you, Dante is definitely a good guy. I’m sure there’s an explanation to this whole Tiffany business!

      • JP says:

        Yeah that is 2 for 2. I got emotional just reading your review and remembering!! I have already re-read it once. I cant wait.
        The other author I recommended is Emma Chase. I know you didn’t like comedy romance but I think you liked the Emma Chase book you read. The Tangled series is what I recommend the most though. Not NEARLY the angst of RK but it has a hot, dirty talking alpha and his POV is hilarious.

  2. JP says:

    Sorry- I meant to spell your name correctly- Jessy!

  3. Oh I should definitely give more of her books a try! I’ve been meaning too but I’m in such a weird mood for angst + alpha! Once that is out of my system I’ll start the Tangled series

  4. Pingback: My Favorite Books of 2016 | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

