Book Review – Loud is How I Love You – Mercy Brown

It’s getting harder and harder for me to discover new authors because I’m back to work and I have a baby now so I just don’t have the time to venture  into new things. I’ve found I prefer to read my favorite authors so that blogging is not ‘work’ but something I just enjoy. Which is why it came as a surprise when I received this book and decided why not? The even bigger surprise? I LOVED it! Such a refreshing new voice this author has!

But first a synopsis. Emmy is in a band. That’s all she’s ever wanted to do but she knows not many make it so she’s in university studying English Lit. Her band is made up of her closest friends – Joey and Cole, or as she called them, the Beat Brothers, and their guitarist Travis. Unlike other bands, they gel. They get along so well they’re sorta like family now. That’s why when Emmy sleeps with Travis, she knows they can never tell the Beat Brothers and neither can they ever do it again. Because relationships in a band never work out.

But Travis doesn’t agree. He wants more from Emmy. Only Emmy is determined to push him away. The band is the most important thing to her. They’re finally getting recognition. They need to stick together and not mess things up.

And there you have it. Quit a simple synopsis but what a different way of story telling! From the first word, I was hooked. I mean, the way this author rights, it makes you feel like Emmy is your best friend and she’s right there telling you her story. Emmy makes fun of herself, she’s sarcastic and witty and you immediately want to hang out with her. But she’s also selfish. At least that was my only caveat, that she hurt Travis over and over. I mean, I sort of get it. The band was the most important thing to her and she wanted to ‘make it.’ But she couldn’t see beyond that and that annoyed me at times.

That being said, I liked everything else about her. I laughed so hard reading this book! That and the character building made the story for me. You feel like you know these people. Not just Emmy and Travis but also side characters like Montana and Millie and Sonny… it was incredible how I felt part of the whole Jersey music scene. And that takes talent. I mean, it’s one thing to identify with the characters but it’s quite another to feel like you’ve climbed inside a book and you now live with these guys. Like I said, a very refreshing author voice.

I kept wondering where Mercy Brown has been all my reading life?! I mean, talent like this should be shared!

Absolutely cannot wait for the next book!

4.5 stars!

Amazon Buy Link -> Loud is How I Love You by Mercy Brown

loud

I’d like to thank the author for providing this ARC for my review.

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, New Adult and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review – Loud is How I Love You – Mercy Brown

  1. Pingback: My Favorite Books of 2016 | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

