Book Review – Grayson – Lisa Eugene

I was immediately intrigued by the blurb. An older man, a recluse, a schizophrenic… It wasn’t something I’d read before and I was curious …

Grayson is the story of Angie, a 24 year old juggling a job and Graduate school. Angie needs an extra jobs to be able to pay off her expenses and that’s how she meets Charles. Charles needs a cleaner, someone willing to clean out an old townhouse. Angie is just the right one for the job, except Charles makes Angie feel weird. Charles is a 19 year old entitled playboy, so Angie wants to stay away, but she needs the money. So she starts cleaning out the house, only someone lives there… Charles’ father Grayson. Grayson has mild schizophrenia, he doesn’t like to interact with people. But Angie gets through to him, falls for him…

I adored the lines of his body: The form, the passion, the intensity. He was simply beautiful. I saw him this way first, as a man. His disorder was just a fraction of who he was.

… now if only he’d trust her. But of course it’s not that easy.

I hated seeing him like this. I hated how this disorder deceived this beautiful man and filled his head with lies. I was trying so hard to be strong, but it killed me to see him so out of touch with reality.

While this was a heavy read, due to the subject matter, it also proved to be a fast read, a sweet read. Grayson is of course hard to get to, but their initial interaction was so cute and sweet. I’ve always loved that initial resistance, and this one definitely tugged at the heartstrings. Then they get to know each other… the biblical way 😉 and it was steamy as all hell! Unexpectedly super steamy 🙂

But then there’s bound to be conflict and this one broke my heart. You could see it coming a mile a way but still it hit like a freight train. It was devastating but still with that underlying sweetness that made up the whole book.

I saw it all. His dark fears, his crippling doubts, his fervent passion and his amazing heart. It was perfection. A perfect should with fissures and flaws that made him beautiful.

I did feel as though the book sometimes became soap-ish… there were some eye-roll moments, the conflicts sometimes too obvious and their solutions too easy… the epilogue was also too short and too sweet… but all in all it was an entertaining read. I did wish it was longer… but it held my attention and warmed my heart… and other places 😉

3.5 Stars

 

Amazon Buy Link -> Grayson by Lisa Eugene

Grayson

I’d like to thank the author for providing this copy for my review.

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

