Book Review – Better When it Hurts (Stripped #2) – Skye Warren

There are all kinds of love in this world but never the same love twice.

Sigh… This is the book I’ve been waiting for since the year began! I’ve read good books, but this… this one is now at the top of my favorite books this year!

This is the second book in the Stripped Series by one of my favorite authors, Skye Warren. I have admittedly not read the first, they’re all standalones, but after reading this one I’m scrambling to get the first one and every book after!

This is the story of Lola and Blue. Lola, is a stripper at The Grand. She knew Blue from another life, when they were both foster kids. But she hurt him. She lied about him, he was sent away, and now he’s back for revenge. But Blue is after something else too. He wanted Lola badly, they had something all those years ago, back when she was Hannah… he’s going to take everything he missed.

“I’m the only one who gets to fuck you. I wasn’t going to let him slap you around, Lola. The only person who’s going to mark this pretty skin is me.”

Lola is conflicted. She once loved Blue… but now the bigger emotion is fear… She doesn’t know how far Blue will go to exact revenge…

And maybe that’s the scariest part, that even he doesn’t know where the hard edge is. He’ll keep pushing and pushing until I fall. And I’ll let him, because all my life, I’ve craved that wind on my face.

Once I started this book I could not put it down! I kept checking my reading progress and despairing that I was reading too fast! The book had this emotional depth, I felt and felt and felt. Lola’s story wasn’t a light one – a foster child, everyone she knew taking from her, she let them, maybe even encouraged them. But Blue was different. And when he comes back for her, all the emotions of past come rushing back. Basically the book did what only one more book has done since the year began, it brought on the angst.

“I thought I could fuck you and not feel anything again. I thought I could have you and forget you. But that was impossible from the start. I’ve never been able to forget you. And you make me feel everything, Lola. You make me del alive.”

And then the steam… whoa! Now this is how erotica should be written. Again, the book did what few have done this year, it brought on the steam! These two had enough anger and enough lust to keep the pages burning. I’m just in awe of how the author can mix in dirty filthy lust with a story line so emotional and not compromise either.

I did have one qualm, the book was too short. I would have loved for the author to keep us in suspense longer. Maybe the book was unputdownable because it was fast… but I would have loved to have felt the tension for longer, wonder about the characters history for longer….

But again, the angst, the steam, the writing…

He guides me away, out of the dark, into the golden afternoon light. I’m blinded by it, but I don’t slow down. I know he can see, and I’m content to let him lead. More than content, I’m happy in my surrender. Forever fulfilled in the calloused hands that will hold me and hurt me, calm me and keep me, love me and never let me leave.

One of my favorite books of the year.

4.5 stars!

Amazon Buy Link -> Better When it Hurts by Skye Warren

better

I‘d like to thank the author for providing this copy for my review.

This entry was posted in Dark Romance, Erotic Romance, Erotica and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review – Better When it Hurts (Stripped #2) – Skye Warren

  1. Pingback: Book Review – Love The Way You Lie (Stripped #1) – Skye Warren | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

