Book Review – Strength & Courage (Night Horde SoCal #1) – Susan Fanetti

Move the Sun and Behold the Stars were hands down the best books I read in 2014. Susan Fanetti became an instant favorite. So when I saw that she had a new series out, I wasn’t going to read anything else!

Strength and Courage is book #1 in the Night Horde SoCal series. We meet new characters who are part of the bigger family of the Night Horde Missouri. In this first book, we meet Muse, a former nomad who now belongs to the Night Horde. Muse doesn’t talk much, and no, he didn’t get his name because he’s a deep thinker either. Muse just likes minding his own business. Unfortunately, he took on a kind of mentorship role to Demon, known for quickly losing his temper.

Demon’s son Tucker has just been placed into a foster family without Demon getting a chance to prove he can be a good father. Frustrated, Demon seeks out the woman who took his son away, Sidonie Tuladhar. Muse is now caught up trying to help demon get his son back, but that means having to talk to Sid. The two are attracted to each other, but Sid is a strong woman, she doesn’t need a macho caveman dictating her every move. And Muse needs to protect her, it’s just what he does, who he is.

“He’d never been with a woman who wouldn’t just do what he said. Not only did Sid do what she wanted, she also got in his face for even trying to handle a situation. He found himself feeling hesitant, trying to think about how to say things or do things in a way that didn’t make her feel like he was being pushy, or a ‘caveman’. Which was pretty fucking offensive, frankly. He was struggling to figure her out, but he knew why he was trying. She had him. He was hooked. Well and truly.

I was so excited to get back into Susan Fanetti’s biker world. While she rocked my world with Touch, a mafia book, bikers books are what she does best. So yes, I was excited. But while her characters pulled me in, the book lacked the depth that was Move the Sun and Behold the Stars. The characters have their problems and the problems aren’t light either… but they were resolved too quickly in my opinion… the steamy scenes were also ‘meh’ in my very eloquent opinion 😉 I honestly can’t say what it was that just wasn’t as good as the other books… but something was missing.

I liked the book enough. I read it in a day. I had moments when I thought, wow… moments like when Muse understood Sid…

“I get it, hon. I know you need to be strong enough to handle your own shit. I’m not trying to boss you around. I’m not trying to take your strength away from you. I’m trying to add mine to it. That’s what love is, right? That’s what family is.”

sigh… but mostly I read on without any high highs or low lows… a kind of flatline… not a bad flatline, but a flatline nonetheless.

I will say though that I love Fanetti’s heroines. They are not silly women doing nothing and waiting to be rescued by bad ass bikers. They are clever and sassy. They give as much as they get. I’ve read many biker books and Fanetti’s remain my favorite. I will definitely be reading more of her books, but I hope she finds the magic that was Move the Sun, Behold the Stars and Touch.

3. 5 stars.

Amazon Buy Link -> Strength and Courage by Susan Fanetti

stength

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review – Strength & Courage (Night Horde SoCal #1) – Susan Fanetti

  1. Pingback: Book Review – Shadow and Soul (The Night Horde SoCal #2) – Susan Fanneti | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

