Book Review – The Deal (Off Campus #1) – Elle Kennedy

I wasn’t sure I was ready to read another New Adult book. I mean, some of my favorite books are of the genre but I feel weird reading about 20 year old hot men :/ So yes, I was staying away from NA. Then The Deal happened. Such rave reviews I thought, why not? I was reading a boring book and I really needed to get out of a two week slump… so again. The Deal happened. So good!

But first a synopsis. Hanna is a Junior at Briar University. She’s studious and artsy but for some reason has a crush on a jock, Justin, a football player. She is also one of the very few who aced an Ethics exam and this is how she gets into Garrett’s radar. Garrett is failing in Ethics. He’s the captan of the University’s hockey team and if he doesn’t do well in class, he will definitely be out of the team. So he has to convince Hannah to tutor him. Only Hannah is not interested. Garrett is a jock, he sleeps around and can’t be that clever, so she thinks. But Garrett knows Justin, and maybe if she tutor’s him, he can help with the Justine thing.

So my last read was amazing, my next book not so much. For two weeks I kept trying to pick up the ‘not so good’ book and putting it down. The I got a sample of The Deal, ended up buying the book and reading it in one go. It was witty, clever and just what I needed. If I wasn’t laughing, I was fanning myself… Garrett. Wowzer!

So Garrett wants Hannah to tutor him… but he surprises himself by wanting more with her.

I never expected her. Sometimes people sneak up on you and suddenly you don’t know how you ever lived without them… I can’t remember a time when I did’t want this girl. When I wasn’t fucking desperate for her.

Yup, Garrett was hot, witty, sensitive… sigh… overall package.

I did get a sense of Deja vu while reading some scenes. Reminded me of Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire. Maybe it was because of the genre… There wasn’t anything entirely new in the book.

That being said I enjoyed the humor and the easy flow of the book. I reminisced about my college days and I crushed on Garrett. I identified with Hannah (Small talk, bleugh!) and I pretty much smiled all way through.

4 stars!

Amazon Buy Link -> The Deal by Elle kennedy

the deal

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, New Adult and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Review – The Deal (Off Campus #1) – Elle Kennedy

  1. Laurie says:

    Hi, I just wanted to point out that you kept calling Justin Justine in your review. Justine is a woman’s name and I looked in the book to double check and it is spelled Justin.
    Love your blog!
    Laurie

  2. Pingback: Book Review – The Mistake (Off Campus #2) – Elle Kennedy | Jessy's Book Club

  3. Pingback: Book Review – The Score (Off-Campus #3) – Elle Kennedy | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

