Book Review – Remind Me (Chasing Fire #1) – Ann Marie Walker & Amy K. Rogers

I immediately loved the sound of this book. An heiress and a guy from the wrong side of the tracks… the kind of story I was craving. The blurb promised lots of angst and maybe some steam, so I dropped everything and picked it up. There were some red flags… he ends up a billionaire so there was the “If you liked Fifty Shades of Grey…’ thing going, but I’ve read some amazing ‘billionaire themed‘ books so that did not deter me. The second red flag was that this would be book #1 of a trilogy. I’ve read some amazing trilogies and series so again, I wasn’t deterred. Unluckily for me, I should have taken the red flags seriously 😦

But first a synopsis. Alessandra Sinclair is the heiress to a media empire. Ten years ago she met and fell for Hudson Chase, a bad boy from the wrong side of the tracks. The romance ended quickly and Allie went back to her life. But Hudson Chase is back. He still has the killer looks but now he’s a billionaire and CEO of one of the fastest growing companies in Chicago. Hudson wants Allie again, and even though there’re a million obstacles in his way, he’ll make sure he gets her this time.

Again, the blurb got me. I was beyond excited. It started out well enough but soon things started going downhill. First we got the mention of his car, an Aston Martin DB9. Which then got mentioned over and over again. The book then quickly turned into some product placement exercise with every make of everything mentioned. I mean, maybe it’s just me, but this got old fast.

But that wasn’t the worst of it. I could deal with all the product placement in exchange for an entertaining story. But unfortunately this wasn’t it. If you’ve read billionaire books (and I’ve read a ton of them) then you’ve read this one. He’s rich. He lives in a penthouse and drives a cool car. You’ll get every little detail of how rich he is. Detail after detail of his penthouse, his car, his clothes etc. She’s rich too which means you get double the detail. Country Club, expensive wine, expensive taste, cliche socialite mother etc. The detail then makes up 40% of the book, another 40% is taken up by sex scene after sex scene, then we’re only left with 20% for the storyline. And not surprising, the exciting part of the storyline is saved for last, so you just HAVE TO read book #2.

So yes, I should have listened to the ring of the alarm bells. The drama at the end was expected, at least it didn’t shock me. It did make me curious to see how it would play out and of course that was the idea, to make me curious enough to wait for book #2. But while I’m curious, I’m not curious enough.

On the plus side, the book is well edited and there was a funny secondary character… so if you haven’t had your fill of billionaire books then pick this up. Unfortunately this will be the end of the road for me.

2 stars.

Amazon Buy Link -> Remind Me by Ann Marie Walker & Amy K. Rogers

remind me

 

I’d like to thank the publisher for providing this ARC for my review.

This entry was posted in Erotic Romance and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

