Book Review – The Virgin (The Original Sinners #7) – Tiffany Reisz

“It was a dark and stormy night…”

That is how the book begins. I kid you not. But in the way that is Tiffany Reisz, it is all in good humor. It’s actually the night before a big wedding. Nora, Søren and Kingsley are in a room gathered for a round of storytelling. They’re about to discuss ‘that year.’ The year Nora left Søren. Left Kingsley. Left Manhattan. Left their life. But it’s also the year Kingsley left Søren. It’s a painful topic but Søren wants to know what they both did that year.

And so we get their stories. Nora recounts meeting and falling for a virgin nun. While Kingsley recounts meeting and falling for Juliette. In typical Tiffany Reisz fashion, the book is filled with humor, pain – the good and the bad kind 😉 and lots of sex. I was so excited when I got my hands on it. I raced by all my other reading ‘obligations’ saving the best for last. Did I like the book? Yes. Did I love it? No. And here’s why.

I’ve been such a huge fan of this series. Tiffany Reisz is in a class of her own when it comes to Erotica. It’s original and unapologetic and brilliant. So I read every book with breathless anticipation. Because every time I think I know everything about her characters, she introduces something new that rocks my reading world yet again. So I expected The Virgin to do just that. And while there was a lot of new information, I did feel like some of it was repetitive. Maybe ‘repetitive’ is not the word. I just feel like I know all the characters too well by now and nothing they did shocked me. The book just didn’t have the oomph the rest do.

I think The Mistress was the best book ever, so maybe I compare everything to it. But this one just didn’t make my heart race. It didn’t have me reaching for my fan either. It was good. Well written. I think I just didn’t get as invested in the story. There are two stories like I said, Nora and her virgin and Kingsley and Juliette. The latter was much much more enjoyable. I loved getting to see kingsley’s vulnerabilities. However, Nora’s story just didn’t excite me. Which is strange because it’s about Nora seducing a virgin in a convent 🙂 I just raced past it to read more about Kingsley and Juliette.

While it’s not my favorite book in the series, the events in The Virgin explain how Nora discovered she’s a switch and actually brings us back to the very beginning, The Siren (which I now want to re-read.) All in all, an okay story. The White Years are meant to go deeper into these characters and this one does, but it just didn’t evoke the same feelings the other books did.

3.5 stars.

Amazon Buy Link -> The Virgin by Tiffany Reisz

virgin

 

I’d like to thank the publisher MIRA for providing this ARC for my review.

Series reading Order

The Red Years

SIRENangelprincemistress

The White Years

saintkingvirgin

 

This entry was posted in Dark Erotica, Dark Romance, Erotica and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

