Book Review – Pleasure Extraordinaire – Liv Bennett

A friend recommended this book to me saying it was ‘incredibly hot’ and since I was in the mood for just that, I decided to give it a go.

Pleasure Extraordinaire is a four part story about Lindsey. Lindsey is known as ‘Iron Slap’ after a video of her slapping her kidnapper went viral. She is also down on her luck job-wise after she filed a sexual assault suit against her former employer. Those two things have made her almost unemployable. Until her luck changes. She gets invited to a meeting with Michael Hawkins, one of the richest men in LA. Michael wants to hire Lindsey… As his pretend girlfriend.

See, Michael is gay. And to hide his homosexuality, he wants Lindsey to go on dates with him publicly. But he has his conditions. He will pay her millions but she cannot openly date. She thinks it’s going to be a piece of cake until she meets his two sons. They both want Lindsey and they’ve decided to go after her.

I initially got the sample and even though I had some problems with the writing, I decided to get the entire collection. But things slowly went downhill from there. I’ll start by saying if you want erotic, sex filled pages, then this is the book for you. Lindsey fully explores her sexuality and she moves from one carnal act to the next. It was hot but then it got funny. The writing was a bit weird, stilted. Some conversations just didn’t seem natural.

Yet still I read on. Why? Well the story is not what you expect. I expected a Fifty Shades of Grey kind of story but it veered of to something that kept me intrigued. I wasn’t sure who of the three men would win Lindsey. I also wasn’t sure what to make of the men. They all seemed to have their agendas which again, kept me intrigued. So even with all my reservations, I moved onto book two.

But then it got worse and I started skimming. I wanted to have my questions answered without having to actually read most of the book. By the end of book two I gave up. A pity because I’m still wondering where the author was going with it but I just couldn’t move past the weird conversations.

So a tiny recap. There were some funny bits that were meant to be funny, there were funny bits not meant to be funny. There was an underlying mystery that kept me intrigued and there was sex… Lots of it.

2.5 stars.

Amazon Buy Link -> Pleasure Extraordinaire by Liv Bennett

pleasure

This entry was posted in Erotic Romance, Erotica and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

