Book Review – Bound by Flames (Night Prince #3) – Jeaniene Frost

I waited an entire year for this book. I don’t mean it felt like a year… it actually was a year (well, almost) since I read book #2 in this series (which was a 5 star read) and I just couldn’t wait to get my hands on book #3. I’m not sure if this is a case of too many expectations but this one fell woefully short. But I’ll get to that in a bit.

In Bound by Flames, we’re reunited with Leila and Vlad. Vlad’s worst enemy is still out to kill him and Leila is determined to help Vlad capture him. Vlad is not too happy to accept Leila’s help but he’s indulging her a little… he would much rather keep her safe. Which as it turns out doesn’t matter because Leila is captured… again. Now it’s up to Vlad to find her and hopefully settle the score with his enemy once and for all.

As I said, I was excited to get this book. I couldn’t wait for the usual dose of romance, erotica and drama that Jeaniene Frost does so well. As you’ll remember I rated the entire Night Huntress series 5 stars and this one seemed to be continuing the trend. Until this book of course. While it wasn’t bad… it just didn’t have that oomph the rest had. Leila being captured yet again made me roll my eyes. I mean, how many times will this girl get captured before we change the storyline?! Let’s just say this dulled my enthusiasm for the book right at the beginning.

But it’s Vlad… sexy sexy Dracula… so yes, I just had to read on, if only for the romance and the erotica if not for the drama. But then the romance also fell short. I mean, he said and did all the right things, I just didn’t feel it. So I was left waiting for the scorching scenes because let’s be honest, Jeaniene Frost can write scorching scenes! I still remember a particular chapter in the Night Huntress series… wowza! But I digress… I had prepped myself for similar scenes and again… they fell short. Sigh.

I honestly wanted to give up on the book. In book #2 I kept checking my reading progress because I couldn’t bear for the book to end, but in this one I kept checking and sighing because of how long I had to go :/

I will say there were some moments, especially towards the end when things picked up. I kept imaging what an awesome movie it would make because I kept getting all these visuals. When I was done I wasn’t sure if that would be the end of the series but found out a book #4 is on its way… in 2016! No, I’m not waiting an entire year for another book. I’m sorry to say that this is the end of the road for me with this series.

Still a huge Jeaniene Frost fan though. Because- Night Huntress 🙂 But for this…

2.5 stars.

Amazon Buy Link -> Bound by Flames by Jeaniene Frost

bound

This entry was posted in Paranormal Romance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

