Book Review – The King (The Original Sinners #6) – Tiffany Reisz

Excitement doesn’t even begin to cover my emotions when I open the first page of a Tiffany Reisz book! Her wit is unparalleled…. unparalleled. There’s just nothing like it… then add in all the other ingredients that make her my favorite author and I have to pace myself not to devour her books in a day!

The King is of course Kingsley Edge’s story. We’re taken back 20 years. A young Kingsley Edge, 28, living in Manhattan… sleeping with anything that moves, drinking to suppress his feelings… and basically all out depressed. Kingsley hasn’t seen Søren in 11 years and the years in between haven’t been kind to him. However, as fate would have it, Nora gets herself into trouble and only Kingsley can help. And thus, the two men are reunited.

The story definitely introduces us to a different Kingsley. I was never his biggest fan in the previous books. I found him too arrogant… I just couldn’t relate much with his character. I was actually a bit apprehensive about reading this book for those reasons, but it’s Tiffany reisz so I read the first page and was immediately hooked. But who is this different Kingsley?

“One. My parents died in a train crash when I was fourteen, Two my sister committed suicide when I was seventeen shortly after marrying the man I was in love with. Three, I used to kill people for a living for a secret organisation inside the French government. Four. I have pissed off dangerous men with long memories. Five. My closest friend is a Catholic priest, a sadist, in love with a girl in his congregation…”

And the list continues. King is a complicated man… he’s always been… but what I loved most was that we got to see a vulnerable Kingsley. It will surprise you how human he is. How much he hurt, how much he needed and how the love of Søren got him through the worst times of his life. Yes, he is still a man whore… expect him to jump from bed to bed… and expect him to be unapologetic about it… but then he gets his own version of a calling and I immediately started rooting for him.

After I was done with the book I realised I only highlighted the book twice. That hardly ever happens when I’m reading a book. I thought about it and could only explain it as an easy reading journey. It had it’s thrilling and impassioned moments… but what I loved most, what I love most about Tiffany Reisz’s writing is the fluidity. The books aren’t burdened with unnecessary drama… they are just so different… not just the subject matter: Erotica + Religion (which I could go on and on about), no, it’s more the wit, the banter… the oh so clever moments that put Tiffany Reisz in a class of her own.

Another brilliant instalment from one of the best.

4.5 stars!

Amazon Buy LinkThe King by Tiffany Reisz

king

I’d like to thank the publisher Harlequin for providing this ARC for my review.

Series reading Order

The Red Years

SIRENangelprincemistress

The White Years

saintkingvirgin

This entry was posted in Dark Romance, Erotic Romance, Erotica and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Review – The King (The Original Sinners #6) – Tiffany Reisz

  1. Bennita says:

    That was a great paragraph from the book. I really need to continue this series. I really enjoyed book one but I got lost somehow in my TBR pile. This is a must read for me!

  2. Sarah says:

    Great review! This one was sooo good and funny! I’m switching from Team Nora to Team Kingsley! 😉

Leave a Reply

