Book Review – Shadowfever (Fever #5) – Karen Marie Moning

This was the perfect end to the series. I honestly wouldn’t change a thing. It just had the right mix of everything I’d been craving for in the other books… sigh… so sad it’s over!

Dreamfever left us with a major cliffhanger and to be honest that makes Shadowfever a bit hard to review. I’ll try to make this review as spoiler free as I can… but by now I think the whole world has read the series 🙂

Shadowfever is more about tying up all the loose ends. Who killed Alina? Will anyone ever defeat the Sinsar Dubh? Who or what is Jericho Barrons? Who will Mac choose? V’lane or Barrons? Yes, it all comes together beautifully and it in no way felt rushed to me. The author took her time and continued to impress me every step of the way.

She infused this last instalment with light and love and lust 🙂 I had felt that the previous books could have done with more of the last two and was finally happy she gave it to us. I, like everyone else who’s read this series, have a major crush on Jericho Barrons…

Some people bring out the worst in you, others bring out the best, and then there are those remarkably rare, addictive ones who  just bring out the most . Of everything. They make you feel so alive that you’d follow them straight into hell, just to keep getting your fix.

Yup. I’m a Barrons groupie! And though I love his arrogance and his devil may care attitude, it was nice to see some vulnerability in him… but in the end…

“I’m not the hero, Mac. never have been. never will be. Let us be perfectly clear: I’m not the antihero, either, so quit waiting to discover my hidden potential. There’s nothing to redeem me.”

And even with him revealing it all, there was still V’lane, waiting in the sidelines.

But beyond the love story (even though, let’s be honest, that was my favorite part…) there was still the issue of the world falling into pieces and the Sinsar Dubh killing everything in sight. But why is it that only Mac can sense it? What makes her so special? And who can she trust with it? Everyone seems to want it badly enough but no one tells her why…

All in all and incredibly thrilling, exhilarating ride! I loved the truth coming to light… I could not have predicted any of it and a lot took me by surprise. Yet with all the foreshadowing done in previous books, I felt that it all came together. I absolutely loved it. And in the end…

“You’re Mac,” he says. “And I’m (him). And nothing else matters. Never will. You exist in a place that is beyond all rules for me.

Sigh…

5 stars!

 Amazon Buy LinkShadowfever by Karen Marie Moning

shadow

Series Reading Order

dark 1blood 2fae 3dream 4shadow 5

This entry was posted in Paranormal Romance, Romantic Suspense and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Book Review – Shadowfever (Fever #5) – Karen Marie Moning

  1. Angie says:

    Love your review but need to point out that this is not the end. The next one (called ICED) was written from Dani’s POV and focuses on Riordan, Christian McKeltar and Dancer. In January next year the next one (Burned) will come out and is supposed to be in both Dani’s and Mac’s POV.

    • Oh! I assumed the next books would be solely about Dani and since Barrons wouldn’t be in them I tried to decide whether I should go on. Surprised Mac still gets a pov! So you advise me to continue?

      • Angie says:

        Originally the next three books were supposed to be in Dani’s POV only and after these two more Mac books were planned but Moning changed her mind and will come bach to Mac & Barrons earlier than planned.
        I think it might be that Dani is so young thus the reviews were controversial esp. with Riordan being one of her love interests and Christian being rather creepy in his transformation into a Unseelie prince.
        I have given ICED 4 stars but was really torn. I surprisingly enjoyed Danis view (didn’t expect that) but the men in her live were a bit hard to get into except for Dancer. Riordan was oddly creepy but fascinating. He comes across much harder than Barrons but I do love these guys and you’ll learn much more about them and their creepy nightclub.
        As you do seem to like darker books it should be good for you if you don’t mind Dani’s age which in her broken world does really allow her to be an adult.

  2. Ah….sigh…this was my favorite of the series and I couldn’t agree with you more! Love JZB…”When you know who I am. Let me be your man.” Great review!

  3. Sigh… I can’t move on from him… Especially who he was in the last two books… ❤

Leave a Reply

