Book Review – Ruin (Songs of Corruption #2) – CD Reiss

I was both excited and apprehensive when I got my review copy of Ruin. I couldn’t remember much of what had happened in Spin (Book #1) so I worried that I wouldn’t get the story. And it happened. I was very confused in the first few pages. But I kept reading on because, one it’s CD Reiss, a certified favorite, and two, even with the confusion, Antonio and Theresa were just so… intense… addictive! You want to know what happens to them…

So Ruin begins right in the middle of what I’ll call the Paulie mess. Antonio feels guilty for bringing Theresa into his mafia world, but regardless of this, he can’t stay away from her.

Every time I touched her, she lost a little more spotlessness and came closer to me. Closer to the animal I was. The moral choice would have been to leave her, but I couldn’t. Not because of guilt, even though I had a little of that. But her pull on me, and mine on her made it impossible for me to leave her, even for her own sake. I never felt so helpless in the destruction of graciousness as I did with my Contessa.

Theresa loves the fact that she ‘lives’ when she’s around her capo. She feels the danger surrrounding him and it intoxicates her… She loves this man. She would die for this man. And she might have to…

“I’ve never been loved the way he loves me. He loves me recklessly, to the misuse of everything else in his life.”

Other than the initial confusion, I got into the rhythm of the story. I love the intensity between these two characters. How much they want each other and how much they are willing to sacrifice to be together. But Antonio is a mafia prince of sorts. He has obligations that he can’t ignore. In book #1 I wasn’t quite sold on the mafia world but like she promised, CD Reiss gets more indepth in this one. We get more of Antonio’s background: how a Consiglieri became a Capo. The author then creates this amazing East LA Mafia World that had me enthralled.

I’m a huge fan of mafia stories having watched every (good) movie available, every series and mini series and read most Mario Puzo books… I loved what CD Reiss created. I kept thinking what a wonderful mini series this would make, especially when the danger kept rising and the deals with the Sicilians were made… I loved it!

For those in for the steam and the love story, you will not be disappointed. While Antonio is a hard man, he reveals himself with Theresa.

No man has ever loved me like he does. If love is a part of our better natures, he’s a saint. And if it’s part of our basest instincts, he’s an animal.”

It was incredibly sweet how they loved each other… and steamy as only CD Reiss can make it… But for me, it was the unfolding plot… the anticipation and the unknown that made this a must read.

4.5 stars!

Amazon Buy LinkRuin by CD Reiss

ruin

 I’d like to thank the author for providing this ARC for my review.

This entry was posted in Erotic Romance, Erotica, Romantic Suspense and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

