Book Review – Reaper’s Stand (Reaper’s MC #4) – Joanna Wylde

This series is a guilty pleasure of mine. Dirty talking bikers who ride hard and love even harder… yup, definitely my cup of tea!

Reaper’s Stand is the story of Reese ‘Picnic’ Hayes. We know him as the President of the Reaper’s MC. He lost his old lady to cancer and since then turned into a complete man whore. He also vowed never to take another old lady, he’s happy with the club whores… or is he? Lately he finds himself drawn to one woman, London Armstrong. Not that he thinks its love or anything…. but lately not even club whores can satisfy him. He wants something different, and poor London has no idea whats coming for her.

London owns her own cleaning company and is dating a local cop. She knows all about the bikers and their alleged business and is determined to stay away. However, they’ve offered her the biggest cleaning contract and no way can she turn that down. So now she has to see Reese Hayes on the regular. Not bad for the eyes but she knows he can’t be good for the heart. And so their story begins.

As I said, I love this series. We all know that Joanna Wylde has done her research when it comes to the MC life and therefore everything rings authentic. The books are unapologetic and real… no shying away from what these bikers actually do… from easy women to murder, it is all spelled out. That being said, we get their softer sides as well. And I definitely enjoyed Picnic’s softer side.

I’ve had a crush on him for a while… despite his whoring ways 😉 He’s older, mature and in charge… and when he decides to take London, no one can stand in his way. Not even London herself. I enjoyed their love story… though I wished it had been steamier. The steamy moments were there but nothing that made me bring out the fan 😉 They also fell in love too fast… I am not totally against instalove but I love it when I actually know what it is, other than lust, that drives two people to this emotion. I didn’t quite feel it here as I wanted to.

That being said, it is a well thought out story. The challenges they face are real… and boy were they exciting! It felt almost movie-like with the explosions and the shoot outs. Definitely my kind of book in that the adventure and the love story complement each other. Did I wish for more? I did. More oomph. More OMG-That-didn’t-just-happen moments. Maybe more longing between the characters…

All in all, a great addition to the series… and Ruger maintains top spot as my favorite Reaper!

4 stars!

Amazon Buy LinkReaper’s Stand by Joanna Wylde

reaper

I’d like to thank the publisher PENGUIN GROUP Berkley for providing this ARC for my review.

Series Reading Order

propertylegacydevil's gamereaper

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review – Reaper’s Stand (Reaper’s MC #4) – Joanna Wylde

  1. Aldina says:

    I love your reviews! I loaded Reapers Property on my Kindle back in December and never got to it(silly me, but my TBR list is ever growing). Now that I read your review of Reaper’s Stand, I’ve downloaded the rest of the series!!! Can’t wait to dig in – I am working diligently on my TBR list 🙂 Thank you!!!

Leave a Reply

