Book Review – Twice Tempted (Night Prince #2) – Jeaniene Frost

I read this book constantly checking the percent level on my reading progress. Why? I was so worried it would end! That’s how much I love this series, and finding out that book #3 only comes out in December almost made me hyperventilate! Seriously, if you have not read anything by this author, then you are doing yourself a disservice.

Twice Tempted begins on a sad note. Leila is in love with Vlad but Vlad promised her only passion and monogamy, not love. She accepted it at the time but now that she loves him, she wants more…

“You won’t be satisfied until you’ve brought me to my knees, is that it?”

“Why not? You brought me to mine.”

Then let’s not forget that Vlad still has enemies who’ve discovered that his only weakness is Leila, and the action starts.

The best thing about this series is that it’s not a carbon copy of the Night Huntress Series. Leila is not like Cat. She is more forthright in discussing her feelings. She hardly ever hides what she’s thinking from Vlad and she tells him what she wants repeatedly. I know some readers found this annoying but I found it refreshing. At least Vlad never had to wonder with her!

Vlad is also not Bones. Bones was so forthcoming about his feelings for Cat. The only thing forthcoming about Vlad is that he will never fall in love again. He’s also not apologetic about torturing his enemies. He’ll never change, and he thinks Leila loves the thought of him, not the real him.

“You claim to love me, but the man you love doesn’t exist. You don’t want me to love you. You want the version you’ve made up. The knight, even though I’m the dragon and I always will be.”

But he’s not completely unfeeling… we mostly get the possessive man or the ruthless leader, but finally we got glimpses of a softer Vlad and I loved him even more for it.

“No one feels like you do, so every brush of your skin is a cruel reminder of what I’ve lost. I can barely stand the sight of you because you’re more beautiful than I’ve allowed myself to remember, and when I cut that wire off Maximus and smelled you all over him, I wanted to kill him more than I’ve wanted to kill anyone in my life, yet I couldn’t because of my promise to you.”

Sigh… I love them together. They compliment each other. The action however is not as cool as that in the Night Huntress series and the secondary characters not as endearing. However, I really enjoyed the book, read it in one seating, something I hardly ever do. I can’t wait for the next one!

4.5 stars!

Amazon Buy Link -> Twice Tempted by Jeaniene Frost

twice

 

Series Reading Order

oncetwice

This entry was posted in Paranormal Romance and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Book Review – Twice Tempted (Night Prince #2) – Jeaniene Frost

  1. Sapphyria says:

    Awesome review. I love the Night Huntress series – Cat and Bones are excellent characters. I’ll certainly be adding the Night Prince series to my TBR list.
    Saph

  2. mizzmelai says:

    My go-to series (Night Huntress & Night Prince). Give me some Vlad! 😀

  3. Pingback: Book Review – Bound by Flames (Night Prince #3) – Jeaniene Frost | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

