Book Review – The Professional – Kresley Cole

Having read Kresley Cole’s hot Paranormal Romance series, I was really looking forward to her Erotic one… and now I can tell you with all certainty that no one writes erotic scenes like she does!

The Professional introduces us to Natalie, a PhD student searching for her birth parents. Her investigator disappears and she gives up hope. One day, in a bar with her friends, she sees a stranger. She’s always been good at reading men, so good at spotting who was what, which is mostly why she remained a virgin, never saw one she wanted enough. But with this stranger, things are different. Her friends can’t believe she’s found the one man she can’t decipher.

“That’s one hot piece of tackle- in a cage fighter/GQ model mash up kind of way. Probably gets more ass than a toilet seat. But he got you to look twice, which makes him a rare and wondrous creature, this bar’s very own unicorn. Requires closer investigation…”

And so she investigates and comes face to face with Aleksandr Sevastyan. A 3 piece suit wearing, scarred AND tattooed man. No wonder she can’t read him. But he knows her. He’s been sent to protect her. A professional… but there’s so much more to him… and their story begins.

I’ll first start by saying that it’s been a long time since I read Erotic Romance… it had become tedious, the same sort of smut… then I read The Professional… met Sevastyan and thought… Christian Grey who? He was a possessive dominant who wanted more than he could give.

Yes, he wants Natalie, wants to possess her… but he also has dark secrets he doesn’t intend to share. Add to that the fact that he’s been sent to protect her… A Russian enforcer in the Russian Mafia… He had everything I go for (in the fictional sense). Oozing bad boyness… and a dirty talker to boot.

“When a woman singles me out” – he leaned down to murmur at my ear – “it’s because she wants to get fucked. She looks at the scars and tattoos and knows she’ll get fucked hard.”

Yes. Sevastayn is exactly what our virgin heroine needs.

It was as if I’d thought pleasure was only rated on a scale of one to ten, and then this guy seductively whispered, “Didn’t you know? The upper end is infinity.”

But she’s not a naive virgin. In fact, she was the furthest from naive. She was funny and I have to say I identified with her A LOT. Mostly with her humor and her relationship with her best friend Jess (who deserves her own book!) But more than that, she was intelligent. She made a few questionable choices in my opinion, but all in all a heroine I liked.

Their story is in no way straight forward. It reminded me of what I missed so much in this genre. Well written erotic scenes… Sevastyan is a dominant and he shows Natalie just how good it can get… man! Those scenes… I love a dominant possessive man as much as the next person but Sevastyan might be the most possessive yet… This man wears sexy-possessive like a second skin… and it turns out that’s the kind of hero I like…

“If you become mine, I won’t let you go.” His words were clipped, as if he was biting back frenzy. “Understand me, if I’m, your first lover – I will be your last.” The ringing tone of finality chilled me. “And I would kill any man who thought to touch what was mine.”

And he was serious with that. Sevastyan was used to figthing for what he wanted. And when he got it, he kept it. Which to be honest, kinda scared me.. but well.. turned me on as well… just like our heroine…

“This need I have for you… it should unsettle you.”

I swallowed. It did. Still I asked, “Why?”

“Because it unsettles even me.”

But more that their love story is the background story. A father Natalie never thought she’d ever meet. A country she never thought she’d visit. And a situation in which she never imagined herself. So we get much more suspense and intrigue than I even imagined.

I vacillated between 5 and 4 stars because there were times I thought the heroine was making crazy decisions but after all was said and done.. I loved their story… humorous and steamy, just how I like it.

PS. That who steam room chapter….. wowza!!!!

4 stars!

Amazon Buy Link -> The Professional by Kresley Cole

professional

 

I’d like to thank Gallery Books/Simon and Schuster for providing this ARC for my review.

 

This entry was posted in Erotic Romance, Erotica and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Book Review – The Professional – Kresley Cole

  1. Margaret says:

    This sounds really good – just went online to my library and put a hold on it so I can read it when it comes in!

  2. This sounds hot and I love the quote about getting so much A$$!! Going on my TBR list! Thanks for your review!! HAPPY FRIDAY!! =)

  3. Anonymous says:

    Russians are a weakness of mine and the fact that he kicks ass sold me. Downloading this right now.

  4. Kayla says:

    I’m so happy I happened to stumble upon your website! I found so many great book recommendations from you, including this one. Holy moly! What a hot read! I finished this book in two days! I look forward to reading more of your recommendations.

  5. Pingback: Book Review – The Master (The Game Maker #2) – Kresley Cole | Jessy's Book Club

  6. Pingback: Book Review – The Player (Game Maker #3) – Kresley Cole | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

