Book Review – A Hunger Like No Other (Immotals After Dark #2) – Kresley Cole

I’m officially a lover of the Immortals After Dark series!

A Hunger Like No Other is the story of Emmaline, the half vampire, half Valkyrie, and Lachlain MacRieve, king of the Lykaes (Werewolves). Lachlain had been imprisoned and tortured for centuries by the Vampire king Demestrieu. He escapes one night only after following the scent of his mate.

See, the Lykaes have one true partner, their mate, and Lachlain has searched for his for centuries. When he finally discovers that his mate is Emmaline, a vampire, he is disappointed. The Lykaes and the Vampires hate each other, and he hasn’t met a vampire he hasn’t killed. But Emma is his mate, whether he likes it or not. So he takes her by force, because he must have her. And, the more time he spends with her, the more he feels for her…

Over the long years alone, he’d envisioned his mate in a thousand different lights. He’d prayed she would be intelligent and attractive, prayed that she would be caring. And now Emma, half-vampire, half0valkyrie, was shaming even his wildest fantasies.

And the attraction is two-way… Emma finds that she’s starting to like him, even want him…

He’d called her beautiful! Before she’d felt only a sad resignation, but now she was giddy. She narrowed her eyes, realising what this was, Stockholm syndrome. Surely. Identifying with you bullying captor? Check. Forming an attachment to him? Check. But in all fairness to herself, how many captors were six-and-a-half-foot-tall gods with delicious, sun darkened skin, coolest accent, and the warmest hardest body she’d ever dreamed of?

LOL. None Emmaline, so take him and run! Is what I mentally shouted at her 😉 As his friend tells her…

He’s a wealthy, attractive male, a king, who would spoil and protect you for the rest of your life. All you have to do is accept it.

Yup. I absolutely love their story. The Immortals After Dark series is more erotic than other paranormal series I’ve read, and I was still surprised at how erotic. Lachlain wants Emmaline and he’s not afraid to take her by force… but the more time he spends with her the more he realises that he also wants her to enjoy herself… and there begins a series of erotic scenes that had me fanning myself.

But it’s not all smut. Lachlain has a sensitive soul as we soon discover and he’s not happy with his treatment of Emmaline. Add to that the fact that he was tortured for so long and we get ourselves a very tortured alpha male – the best kind in my opinion 🙂 He definitely stole my heart with the man he turned out to be… saying what he feels whether it will be reciprocated or not… and of course, it’s his mate, so possessiveness doesn’t even begin to cover his nature.

I found Emmaline funny though I did wish she’d stop torturing Lachlain and just love him. Throughout, I found the push and pull of their story entertaining and endearing and of course steamy but I remember a point where I wanted to shout at Emma to just succumb and let Lachlain have her.

I will say that my favorite part of the book was their love story. The fact that Lykaes and Vampires do not coexist, the fact that Emma’s Valkyrie aunts would hunt down anyone who takes their Emma… everything about the conflict and the execution of their love story was perfect.

But the book is again not all romance… there is the world that Kresley Cole has created of vampires, lykaes, valkyries, witches, ghouls and every other preternatural you can imagine. I’m more of a vampire lover myself and usually stay away from urban fantasy… my brain is seriously slow at wrapping itself around all these creatures and their complex worlds. So I did have to fight that in the beginning, especially in book #1. But I’m only at the beginning of this series and immensely enjoying myself. I just bought book #3 and I find that the more I go, the more I understand about the world.

If all else fails, I’ll stick to the love stories with the possessive alpha males and the women who catch their hearts.

“While you’ve been running around growling ‘mine’, I’ve been silently saying it right back at you.”

4.5 stars!

Amazon Buy Link -> A Hunger Like No Other by Kresley Cole

a hunger

This entry was posted in Paranormal Romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Book Review – A Hunger Like No Other (Immotals After Dark #2) – Kresley Cole

  1. Sonia Lara says:

    If you love this series, then I highly recommend Gena Showalter’s Lord of the Underworld series… Love Love Love 🙂

  2. every girl loves the “Alpha Male” .. sorry nice guys

  3. Jessi Gage says:

    I second the Gena Showalter rec. Pandora’s box meets Kresly-Cole-like action & adventure.

    I also loved A Hunger like No Other. Nice review.

  4. Belle of the Library says:

    So glad you liked it! I recommend this one all the time! The next one’s a little less rapey, too. Haha.

  5. Pingback: Book Review – No Rest for the Wicked (Immortals After Dark #3) – Kresley Cole | Jessy's Book Club

  6. Pingback: Book Review – Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night (Immortals After Dark #4) – Kresley Cole | Jessy's Book Club

  7. Pingback: Book Review – The Master (The Game Maker #2) – Kresley Cole | Jessy's Book Club

  8. Pingback: Book Review – Dragon Bound (Elder Races #1) – Thea Harrison | Jessy's Book Club

  9. Pingback: Book Review – The Player (Game Maker #3) – Kresley Cole | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

