Blog Tour: Book Review – Nowhere But Here – Renee Carlino

“To exist in each other’s souls so strongly that you are bound without a physical tie is the greatest mark of love…”

This is for all the lovers of Contemporary Romance… an absolutely heart warming story.

The story of Kate Corbin, a journalist at a Chicago newspaper. She’s been living what can only be described as an uninspired life. She has no living family and lacks motivation for her job. She writes all those pieces in newspapers that people skim over. One day, her boss offers her the opportunity to work on a real piece. She is to interview a wealthy but reclusive vineyard owner. People know next to nothing about the guy, other than he was a boy tech genius and now hides from the limelight. Kate takes on the assignment knowing next to nothing about the guy, and travels to Napa. There she meets two men. RJ Lawson, the vineyard owner and Jamie, the vineyard hand.

RJ is a sexist douche and she is quickly put off and doesn’t get close to the story she wants. Jamie on the other hand, she likes instantly. She wants to get to know him more, and the more she does, the more she likes him. And, see, Kate believes in signs. She believes small whispers and nudges got her off her funk, got her the exclusive interview, and brought her to Jamie. But does that really exist? Did the universe really conspire to get her the man of her dreams? Or is the man of her dreams an illusion?

What an incredibly sweet story. I had two days to read it and found I needed just one. It was so well written and flowed so well… I quickly found myself at the 60% mark and couldn’t believe I’d read it so fast, because it is not a short novel. Just very realistic. Characters who’ve had their share of heart ache, yet nothing overly angsty… something that could happen to any of us, and has happened to many. A lack of enthusiasm for life… where the main character Kate, lives a dull life and finally finds the man who brings in all the light but reminds her that the light was in her the entire time.

Jamie and I were two lost and lonely souls finding each other in the vast wasteland of adulthood.

The characters were well rounded and realistic. Jamie, the jack of all trades. Very cute, hardworking and sweet… but with his own flaws, vulnerabilities and secrets. I immediately fell for him. His easy going nature and the fact that he was a nice guy. I’m used to reading about alpha males or bad boys but this one reminded me just why a regular nice guy is just as appealing, and to be honest, in real life, just miles better.

I’ll be a different man if I can’t have you. I will never breathe as deeply as I did when I was with you. I’ll never see the range of color on a perfectly cloudless sky. I will never smell anything as sweet as you or hear a voice that fills my heart up as much as yours does.

There is some heartache and some revelations… miscommunication and mistrust… but all in creating the perfect love story. I had many serene and heart warming moments and even though I found the heroine over dramatic, it did not hinder from my enjoyment of the story.

I absolutely loved Renee Carlino’s debut, Sweet Thing. And this one just shows that this was no fluke. It was just as beautifully crafted.

4 stars!

Amazon Buy Link -> Nowhere but Here by Renee Carlino

nowhere

 

I’d like to thank Atria/Simon and Schuster for providing this ARC for my review.

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

