Book Review – This Side of the Grave (Night Huntress #5) – Jeaniene Frost

Maybe some hidden, fragmented part of me had feared that if I admitted to Bones how much he truly meant to me, then I’d be acknowledging to myself that he had the power to destroy me more thoroughly than anyone… All the rest of the world could only kill or devastate my mind and body. Bones alone held the power to demolish my soul.

Sigh. Back with my favorite characters 🙂 Okay, so I never left. I’m so hooked on this series it’s insane!

In This Side of the Grave, Cat and Bones are now hunting a different kind of predator. No longer bad vampires, but bad ghouls. Vampires have been dying left, right and centre. A ghoul is behind this, inciting the rest to go into war with the vampires. As strong as vampires are, Cat and Bones find they need another ally. The ghoul queen of New Orleans.. However, she might be more inclined to stick with her kind…

Not surprisingly, I absolutely loved this instalment of what has fast become one of my favorite series. The humor in it is so unexpectedly hilarious… Like when Cat argues with Bones and Vlad on whether they have to kill their hostage, and Vlad (with Pyrokenesis) just does it.

“What the hell was that?” I gasped.

“Premature inflamulation.” he replied. “Happens sometimes. Very embarrassing. I don’t like to talk about it.”

Ha 🙂 I absolutely love Vlad! The characters are just so well developed and an absolute thrill to read about. I honestly can’t believe I just recently heard of the series. Living under a rock is not fun at all 😉

Back to the book. Cat and Bones are much stronger after their major fight in book #4. They might even be better than before.

“No matter what happens, you will never lose me.” he whispered. “I am forever yours, Kitten, in this life or the next.”

“You’ll never get rid of me either,” I said, “no matter which side of the grave we’re on. I’ll haunt you, chase you all around eternity, whatever it takes, but it’s you and me until the stars burn out.”

Ah… these two! And I haven’t even mentioned the action, the intrigue…

The only caveat I had was that some of the characters seemed to have developed further than the last book. Thing is, between book #4 and book #5, the author wrote two other books in a spin of of the series. So if, like me, you choose not to read the spin off, then you’ll find mentions of activities you have no clue about and characters who suddenly have wives/husbands. Did that deter from my enjoyment of the book? Not at all.

I’m about to go on to book #6. I am utterly and completely obsessed.

4.5 stars!

Amazon Buy LinkThis Side of the Grave by Jeaniene Frost

this side

Complete Series Reading Order

halfwayoneatdestinedthisone graveup from

 

This entry was posted in Paranormal Romance and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review – This Side of the Grave (Night Huntress #5) – Jeaniene Frost

  1. Margaret says:

    You are seriously making me want to go back and read this series again before I tackle the last book and have to admit that it’s over. At least we have Vlad’s third book and hopefully another spin-off or two!

    • lol… it’s just so amazing! I was so distressed when I heard Book #6 doesn’t have much of Bones 😦 so I started Kresley Cole’s immortals After Dark and though they can’t compete with Night Huntress, they still have some amazing Alpha Males 🙂

Leave a Reply

