Book Review – Once Burned (Night Prince #1) – Jeaniene Frost

I’ve been waiting to read this book since I started the Night Huntress books. I was a bit worried that it would disappoint me seeing as I’d placed too much expectation on it but, wow! Amazing doesn’t even begin to cover it.

Once Burned is finally Vlad’s story, only told in the point of view of Leila. Leila is human but has powers that have forced her into a very solitary life. She can channel electricity and through her contact with another being, learn their past, present and even future. Leila is kidnapped by a group of vampires who want her to use her powers to help them find Vlad. But once Vlad and Leila meet, they’re immediately drawn to each other.

Of the last seven books I read, six have been by Jeaniene Frost. She has quickly become my favorite author. She creates the most awesome alpha males possible, and Vlad is possibly the best of them all. He’s arrogant, rich and powerful… because of course, he’s Dracula 🙂 Oh and let’s not forget uber sexy… damn! He wants Leila and so he takes her, simple 🙂

“This is our true tie,” he whispered, his breath falling hotly onto my lips. “You’re meant for me, and I will have you.”

I didn’t think anyone could make me forget Bones from the Night Huntress books, but Vlad did.

I’d never had someone stare at me the way he did. As if he already owned me body and soul, and I was the only one who hadn’t realised that yet.

I wondered what kind of female would finally land Vlad and I was happy to find that she’s strong but with her own insecurities that make her the kind of heroine you root for. Leila hates her powers but it’s only after she meets Vlad that she starts learning to appreciate them. She’s of course attracted to Vlad but he’s made it clear that he’s incapable of love…

…somewhere  along the lines, this complicated, mesmerising, often terrifying man had gotten so deeply beneath my skin that he’d pierced my heart. Now, I wasn’t so sure that having most, but not all, of him would be enough…

But more than the incredibly sexy and sweet love story, we get the action and drama Jeaniene Frost is also known for. Vlad and Leila work together to figure out who wants Vlad dead… the problem is, Vlad is known not to have any weaknesses, but his fondness for Leila is becoming known, so she’s in even greater danger than before.

An absolutely thrilling ride.

5 stars!

Amazon Buy LinkOnce Burned by Jeaniene Frost

once

This entry was posted in Paranormal Romance, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review – Once Burned (Night Prince #1) – Jeaniene Frost

  1. Cara Thereon says:

    Loved the spin off to the original series. They all integrate because I missed one book in the Night Prince and was confused in the original series. One of the few series that I own all of that’s how much I love it.

Leave a Reply

