Book Review – Fighting to Forget (Fighting #3) – JB Salsbury

I’m a huge fan of this series, so when I found out a new book was out, I had to get my hands on it.

Fighting to Forget is the story of Rex the lead singer of Ataxia and also a fighter in the UFL. Rex has had a difficult life, but he can’t remember much of it. See, the only way he knows is because of his proclivities. He needs pain, but more than that, he can’t get close to a woman… and that’s just the beginning.

He’s a man hardened by his circumstances, forced to live through a nightmare that still haunts his sleep, unable to escape the devastation of what was left behind. A man broken.

That’s until he meets Mac. She’s different. Not so different that she cures him, but different enough to maybe be the cure.

She didn’t try to fight my demons, make them bow or wrestle them into submission. She embraced them, accepted them as part of me. Loved me despite them, and arguably even loved them. And it’s that love and acceptance that quieted them, soothed them, and kept them compliant.

Mac has been in love with Rex all her life. But he doesn’t know. She knows everything about him, but he hardly notices her. Until he does of course, and their story begins.

I loved their story. It was difficult of course, but I loved that it was compelling. That I wanted to keep reading. Actually I found that I could not put it down, and was constantly thinking about it. However, I did find it a bit formulaic of the New Adult genre. The angst was piled on a bit too much and I found that I didn’t ‘feel’ as much as I was expected to.

I wish I was pulled in emotionally. I wanted to continue reading, to see what would happen, but I was more of a spectator and therefore not as engaged as I wanted to be. Also, the reader knows who the two are before they know it themselves. Them finding out is of course the journey but I had already been to the finish line so it wasn’t as huge a deal anymore. I wasn’t bored, far from it, but I think I much more prefer not knowing and discovering it as I go.

That said, it is a sad story that I know will hit most readers hard. An alpha male who’s a bit too hard on himself. Tough childhood, tough adulthood and even tougher coping mechanisms. Then bring on a girl who’s also had a tough life…

As a huge fan of the series I will say that Book #2, Fighting to Forgive is my favorite and I love that the characters in it are there in this one too. However, I’ve seen 5 star reviews of this book so as usual the feelings herein are strictly my own and I would love to know how others felt about the book.

3.5 stars.

Amazon Buy LinkFighting to Forget by JB Salsbury

forget

I’d like to thank the author for providing this copy for my review.

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, New Adult and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review – Fighting to Forget (Fighting #3) – JB Salsbury

  1. Hi Jessy.
    I have too say i loved this book and i think it´s the best one yet.
    It´s writen in a much different way than the other two.
    Rex is so much more too him..the man, the protector, the lover, the kid.
    He hurts, he loves and he fights.
    You can all look forward to read this amazing book.
    If you ask me i would give it 5 stars.

    • I knew that if I was pulled in emotionally it would have worked for me. I just don’t know why I couldn’t feel the book 😦 But I’m so glad you enjoyed it… Rex was definitely the most sympathetic character of the three men in the series…

Leave a Reply

