Book Review – Unbreakable – Rebecca Shea

I will love you forever. Forever. Don’t you ever forget that.

Unbreakable is the story of Jess and Gabe. Jess was raised by a single father after her mother died. But to cope with losing his wife, her father became a workaholic. So she was actually raised by her neighbours, the Garcias. The Garcias have a son Gabe and a daughter Ava. Jess has had a crush on Gabe for as long as she can remember. Turns out the feeling is mutual. The two embark on a beautiful relationship until tragedy strikes and dents their otherwise unbreakable relationship.

I went into this book expecting to cry my heart out. It was described as ‘one of those books.’ Unfortunately, I didn’t cry. I say unfortunately because I was actually in the mood for an angsty, super emotional read and I thought this would be it. Not that the story wasn’t sad, and certainly not because my heart is made of stone, but I don’t know. It just didn’t tap into that emotional part of me I guess.

What I loved about this book was how easily it flowed. It’s a beautiful Contemporary Romance debut, with nice characters and a hero you will love. I actually found myself at 80% quite fast. I however felt impartial about most of it. I expected it to give me the feeling I got when I read Real by Katy Evans or Unteachable by Leah Raeder. I expected ‘chills’. I now know not to go in with that much expectation.

Again while I loved the hero and felt for him, I didn’t connect much with the story. I can’t say any bad thing about this book. I really can’t. I’ve seen that a lot of people love it and the reviews are great. It just might be a classic case of ‘It’s me, not you.’

I will end by saying that it’s a really sweet book. Fans of Contemporary Romance, maybe even New Adult, will love it. I just needed a bit extra.

3 stars.

Amazon Buy LinkUnbreakable by Rebecca Shea

unbreakable

I’d like to thank the author for providing this copy for my review.

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, New Adult and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

