Book Review – Hero – Leighton Del Mia

The night he took me from the street, I turned from person to possession. Now I worry that when he entered my body and stole what I wouldn’t give him, I became his possession from the inside.

I’ve been in a ‘Dark Read’ kind of mood lately and this fitted in just right.

Hero is the story of Cataline Ford. She lives in the city of New Rhone where they have their own resident hero. Sort of, no, just like Batman. He rids the city of thieves, murderers etc. The people of New Rhone don’t know what to think of him. Some think of him as a hero, others as a vigilante who needs to be stopped. Not Cataline. She’s always wished Hero was there to save her when her life fell apart, so she worships him from afar.

Cataline also works in the media industry for Calvin Parish, who she has a major crush on. One night while walking home, she’s abducted and taken to a mansion. She’s confused because other than having no actual freedom, she’s let loose in the house, given her favorite food and dressed by the best. That’s until she meets her captor. Calvin Parish.

Calvin is brutal. He takes everything from her and he’s unrepentant. But after months of living with him, when his touch hurts yet feels so good, she finds she’s falling for him. But at the back of her mind, she hopes Hero will come and take her out of her captivity.

Now where to start? Let’s go with the positives. The book had heart, emotion, lots of it. I loved how tormented they both were. The author did a remarkable job making me feel Cataline’s anguish through the age old question, when it comes to dark erotica anyway, how can she possibly fall in love with her tormentor?

I know wondering what it would take to make that dark heart light is dangerous. But a wild hunger is building fast in me. I don’t know if I’ve been starved for anyone for months or starved for Calvin my whole life.

I just loved the author’s way of conveying emotion. It held me in place and was my favorite part of the book.

I also have to commend the steam. My oh my! I was squirming, in a good way. The book is definitely smutty. Calvin is a dirty talker and he takes what he wants. The things he did to her, the things he said to her..

If you’re not naked and spread out on this table in two seconds, I’m going to spank you so hard, you won’t know up from down.

If you love it hard and dirty, you’ll find it all here. And if you love these sorts of Alpha Males, possessive, tormented, you know the sort, then you’ll love Calvin.

Now, unfortunately, to the negatives. We got both the hero and heroine’s point of view. I was initially excited to get into a Captor’s head but I quickly realized why most author’s choose not to do this. For a dark read, I want to fear the captor. I want to not know what’s going through his head so that everything he does scares me. Being in Calvin’s mind made me sympathise with him, which of course landed this book on the light spectrum of dark reads. He hurt her, make no mistake, but I already knew his torment so I wasn’t scared of him.

Add to that the fact that we already know that Calvin is Hero. Not just from the blurb, but from his POV as well. Cataline was the only one not in on the secret. So when she found out, it wasn’t as explosive as it would have been if the reader hadn’t known.

Now lastly, and this is what highly affects my rating, the superhero storyline. It was batman rewritten. The suit he wore, his English sounding butler, the seedy underbelly of the city of Gotham, I mean, New Rhone… see? It all felt too familiar. Such that every time Hero spoke, I heard Christian Bale as Batman in my mind.

Now I will say that the smutty scenes and the emotional scenes made this book a fun read for me. They were done well. But the negatives pull what could have been a compelling 4 star read, into…

3.5 stars.

Amazon Buy LinkHero by Leighton Del Mia 

hero

I’d like to thank the author for providing this ARC for my review.

This entry was posted in Dark Erotica, Dark Romance, Erotica and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

