Book Review – One Foot in the Grave (Night Huntress #2) – Jeaniene Frost

“Answer me this, Kitten. When it is just you and me, no one else, does it bother you that I’m not human? I know what the rest of them think – your mother, your work, your friends, but do you care that I’m a vampire?”

Seriously, where has this series been all my life?! It’s so good I just bought the third book! In fact, I almost didn’t review it because I’m looking forward to more… I absolutely cannot get enough!

One Foot in the Grave starts a couple of years after the end of Halfway to the Grave. Cat is now working for the government trying to contain the vampire threat. She hasn’t seen or heard from Bones since she left him years ago… and she hasn’t been truly living since then.

Have you ever owed someone everything? All your strengths, all your victories, every last thing that’s meant anything in your life… and it can be traced back to one single person? That’s what Bones is to me.”

But she knows, at least thinks, that leaving Bones was for both their good. And though she misses him desperately, still loves him, she has to learn to live without him. Until her life is threatened, and Bones is the only one who can keep her safe.

Sigh, I’m in love with these two! Cat is still as badass as ever and Bones still as swoon worthy. They team up to eliminate her threat but the love between them is still there. I loved seeing Bones show up… loved how they couldn’t fight their attraction… and loved it even more when they gave up and let it consume them. Side bar: There’s a chapter 32 that will require a fan to get through! 😉

The action is also hiked up a notch. As is the danger. Cat is fighting for her life, and though Bones proves to be a more powerful vampire than she thought, she still has to fight for herself. And he’s trained her well. I had a lot of jaw on the ground moments, swoon-worthy moments and downright WTF moments.

As I’ve said countless times, I love nothing more than a heroine who can hold her own. I’ll lust after the hero in most books, but it’s always the heroine who makes a book a 5 star for me. And I have to tell you, no one is more kickass than Cat. It’s not only that she’s a fighter, it’s also that she has a good head on her shoulders. Bones is a strong male and I’m so glad he got a strong female. In fact, I love that he knows how special she is. How much he fights for her, loves her…

“You’re the only woman for me, Kitten. Believe that.”

A slew of entertaining secondary characters are thrown in, and a promise for an even better third book! Here’s to hoping I made sense in my review because to be honest, I’m rushing to get on with book #3!

4.5 stars!

Amazon Buy LinkOne Foot in the Grave by Jeaniene Frost

one foot

This entry was posted in Paranormal Romance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review – One Foot in the Grave (Night Huntress #2) – Jeaniene Frost

  1. Pingback: Book Review – Bound by Flames (Night Prince #3) – Jeaniene Frost | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

