Book Review – Halfway to the Grave (Night Huntress #1) – Jeaniene Frost

I’ve been searching for a new Paranormal Romance addiction and I’m happy to announce that I FOUND IT! This book had everything I need to get me addicted; amazing, kickass heroine, sexy AND sweet hero, a storyline that had my heart thumping and and… I could go on and on…

Catherine Crawfield, or Cat for short, is half vampire, half human. Her mother, a human, was raped by a vampire 22 years ago and Cat has had to live with the burden all her life.

Glad would be if I never had this lineage. Glad would be if I had two normal parents and a bunch of friends, and the only thing I’d ever killed was time. Or if even once I had been to a club just to go dancing and have fun instead of ending up staking something that tried to kill me. That’s glad. This is just… existing. Until the next time.

See, to avenge the actions against her mother, and to appease her mother’s hatred towards the vampire race, Cat hunts and kills vampires at night. One night on a similar mission, she meets Bones, a vampire. Bones is in a similar business, he’s a vampire bounty hunter and he realizes working with Cat would be beneficial to him. He offers to help her find her father, in exchange of working with him. Cat isn’t thrilled.

This was a dream. A very bad, bad dream, brought on by liver poisoning from too many gin and tonics. Here it was, a deal with the devil. At what price my soul?

After all, all vampires are evil… right? Well, Bones starts to convince her otherwise and though they start to enjoy their newfound attraction, the battle against evil vampires has just turned into a war. And they both might not survive it.

I’ll start by explaining that since the Black Dagger Brotherhood, I’ve been in search of a paranormal romance that rivals it. I’ve come across a few but nothing ever really held my interest, until now. I dare say I enjoy this more than BDB, but I’m only going on to book #2 so I’ll have to wait and see.

The reason I loved it so much is that it incorporates everything I love. You all know how much I love a kickass heroine and Cat is that and more. She’s out avenging an evil committed against her mother, and she’s lucky enough to possess skills humans can’t imagine exist. That and the fact that vampires can’t see her coming, because who knew a half human half vampire could exist?

Then there’s the hero, Bones. Sigh…

I loved the way he kissed me. Like he was drinking in the taste of me and still coming back thirsty.

He’s hot, yes, even complete with a British accent (swoon!) but he’s so much more than that. I loved how he managed to show Cat that she was loveable. That she didn’t have to hate her vampire side. That even though she was a product of an evil act, she had an inate goodness in her. He was so incredibly sweet, strong, a fighter, but in the end, seeking love, seeking to be loved, and finding it in the most unlikely person.

But can these two even make it as a couple? I loved seeing them try. Loved how good they were for each other.

“I will love you every day until I die.”

“Kitten,” he moaned as he drew me down onto the bed. “I only thought I was living before I met you. You’ll love me until you die? That’s not nearly enough…”

God, Bones! His possessiveness, his persistence, his love. And even though they are thoroughly tested, they remain steadfast. But their story is far from over…

Add to the wonderful characterisation, an intriguing storyline. my problem with BDB, and forgive me for comparing the two, is that the storyline lost me at times. I wanted the romance and couldn’t have been bothered with the conflict. But in this one, I was in it to the end. Non-stop action told with such humour and sarcasm… I loved it.

Then the end…

If you run from me, I’ll chase you. And I’ll find you…

Chills!

Such an incredible read. I was captivated from start to finish. And to be honest, I don’t know how I’ll read anything but this series. So if this becomes solely a Paranormal Romance blog, blame it on Jeaniene Frost.

5 stars!

Amazon Buy LinkHalfway to the Grave by Jeaniene Frost

halfway

This entry was posted in Paranormal Romance and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Book Review – Halfway to the Grave (Night Huntress #1) – Jeaniene Frost

  1. Kelly Wallace says:

    I love this series! It is one that I have reread a lot. Have you read the Dark Hunter series by Sherrilyn Kenyon? In my opinion it closer to BDB. You have to read FANTASY LOVER first, even though it’s not officially a Dark Hunter novel, it is about Julian who was a Greek general cursed into being a sex slave when he pissed of another Greek god. I hope that you like it.

    • They’re coming at me faster than I can read em! I’ll finish this one first. But between Night Prince and Dark Hunter what should I read next? I’m so excited for a month of just PNR!

  2. Margaret says:

    Love Cat & Bones! There are also spin-offs that are every bit as good as well (Goodreads has the reading order for the Night Huntress Universe which includes Cat & Bones and the spinoffs – it makes more sense if you read them all in order)
    If you haven’t already read them, you should also check out Lara Adrian’s Midnight Breed series – they are awesome as well!

    • I heard the Midnight Breed is very much like the BDB… is that true? I’m so undecided if i want to read it!

      • Margaret says:

        I loved them both and would highly recommend checking out Lara Adrian’s books. The first one is really good and they keep getting better, and even though book 11 skips to 30 years later, it still works and was awesome! I usually take books out from the library when I can, but these are so good that when I find them on sale I’ll pick them up for my library!

  3. Cara Thereon says:

    I own the entire series (well, except the one that just came out) and the other series connected to this one. I LOVE this book. A great read all the way through.

  4. Pingback: Book Review – One Foot in the Grave (Night Huntress #2) – Jeaniene Frost | Jessy's Book Club

  5. Pingback: Book Review – Once Burned (Night Prince #1) – Jeaniene Frost | Jessy's Book Club

  6. Pingback: Book Review – Bound by Flames (Night Prince #3) – Jeaniene Frost | Jessy's Book Club

  7. Pingback: Book Review – Dragon Bound (Elder Races #1) – Thea Harrison | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

