Book Review – Reaper’s Legacy – Joanna Wylde

It just gets hotter and hotter with these Reapers! I loved Horse – Reaper’s Property (and that’s the understatement of the year)… but Ruger definitely takes the crown! Tattooed, pierced and badass to the core… definitely my new favorite Reaper!

Reaper’s Legacy begins 8 years prior, with Sophie losing her virginity to her boyfriend Zach. Right after Zach’s unmemorable performance, his step-brother Ruger walks in, catching an eyeful of a half dressed Sophie, as if the night couldn’t get any worse. Months later and Sophie is pregnant, but unfortunately for her, Zach is no role model. Ruger discovers Sophie is living in near poverty because Zach won’t pay child support. He decides to step in and take care of them. But in true Reaper style, he doesn’t ask, he just does. Sophie is thrown into an unfamiliar world, one she’s not comfortable in… but she finds that what she’s always felt for Ruger is still there…

I’d been nursing a hell of a crush on him for longer than I cared to acknowledge, something he’d failed to notice despite his apparent fascination with every other women under the age of forty within five hundred miles.

…and seeing him everyday will definitely not help matters…

I absolutely love the world Joanna Wylde has created. It is just so authentic, and yes, I say this only having watched Sons of Anarchy and having read a handful of biker books… but it feels authentic. The roughness of the bikers, the politics, the club’s goings-on… I enjoyed it all.

I also got the sense that she upped the ante on this one… though Ruger and Sophie have history, this was no be-my-old-lady insta-love kind of book. Ruger is not a one woman man, and he doesn’t intend to be. And though Sophie is attracted to Ruger, she has her son to think about… not to mention Zach and some other unreconciled past events…

While it was just as dramatic as it’s predecessor, it’s still not as downright dirty as some biker books I’ve read. It’s more in the realm of Kristen Ashley books… drama and suspense but with some kinkiness thrown into it. And yes, Ruger’s kinky 😉 but I’ll let you discover that for yourself.

I also really liked Sophie. Since the book is mostly told in her POV, I found that I quite liked her as the narrator. It’s no secret that my reviews are hugely influenced on how I feel about the heroine… and I have to say, Sophie held her own against one of the hottest alphas I’ve read.

We also get the same gang back… and a glimpse of what the third book will be about and I already know for sure that this will be my favorite. We get a bit of the backstory on Em and Hunter’s story… and it’s crazy! Add to that Painter, and this is going to be one hell of a story!

All in all, an incredibly steamy and intriguing story… and when all is said and done, sweet, sweet sweet…

“You didn’t hurt me, babe,” he siad. “You marked me.”

4 stars!

Amazon Buy LinkReaper’s Legacy by Joanna Wylde

reapers legacy

I’d like to thank the author for providing this ARC for my review.

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Book Review – Reaper’s Legacy – Joanna Wylde

  1. Kelly says:

    Great review. I loved the first book. I am curious though does that mean the heroine of this book spends half the book watching the hero get it on with all the other women…

    • Thanks Kelly. Well, she knows that he’s sleeping around and she sees a lot of evidence of the fact… but he also really wants her, he just doesn’t make empty ‘monogamy’ promises… he’s definitely not Horse who saw what he wanted and made it clear from the get go… he’s more of a ‘let’s have fun’ kind of guy… until later that is 🙂

  2. Kelly says:

    Oh that sounds good I look forward to him staking some claim! It’s not to difficult though is it tp get through…you know I’m not into the whole cheating or sharing thing?

    • It’s not detailed… We mostly just guess he’s doing it but don’t really know… It’s mostly just hinted on so no, not difficult to get through… And you’ll LOVE him staking claim 😉

  3. Kelly says:

    awesome! Thank you

  4. Pingback: Book Review – Devil’s Game (Reaper’s MC #3) – Joanna Wylde | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

