Book Review – Twist Me – Anna Zaires

Finally a book that captures everything I love about Dark Erotica! Intense, brutal but also so beautiful in it’s darkness. The kind of story that stays with you long long after you close the last page…

This is the story of Nora, a soon to be 18 year old High School graduate. Nora goes out to a club with her best friend and there she meets Julian. She’s immediately captivated by him as he’s extremely good looking. But she also feels an undercurrent of fear when she looks at him, when he touches her.

He just touches me. Like he has the right to do so. Like I belong to him – something deep inside me senses that he could’ve easily gone further, that he doesn’t play by the normal rules. That he’s probably the most dangerous creature I’ve ever met.

The mix of lust and fear is something new to her, so she does the only thing she should, she runs. However, she knows one thing, Julian wants her, and that possessive touch means one thing, he’s going to have her.

I absolutely enjoyed this story! I forego sleep to complete it, and that’s something I rarely ever do. But lately I couldn’t find a book in this genre that I enjoyed… everything seemed so simple, the heroines so brainless, the heroes just plain bullies. But not in this one. It reminded me of The Dark Duet by CJ Roberts… not entirely new in the captive-captor storyline but with rich characters. A heroine that you will understand, sympathise with and root for – even in her twisted decisions.

See, Nora is attracted to Julian, as dangerous as he is. She can sense the darkness in him, she knows that he’s not afraid to hurt or kill but she can’t help the attraction. However, she’s not stupid, she doesn’t just go with the flow… she fights, she plots, she tries to survive. That was what I loved about her. Lately I’d been put off by heroines in this genre… always lying down and taking abuse. Not Nora. She questioned her attraction, fought with her feelings but in the end, Julian was a master of manipulation, no way would she win in this game. Julian is also a master of contradictions.

He’s training me to associate pain with pleasure, to enjoy whatever he does to me, no matter how shocking and perverted it is. And always afterwards, there’s that unsettling tenderness. He turns me inside out, takes me apart, and puts me back together – all in the span of one night.

One minute he’s brutal, the next he’s the sweetest guy. He clearly has issues but he’s taken Nora for the simple fact that he wants her. And whether she likes it or not, she’s his now. I have to admit it was easy to fall for him. He wasn’t as brutal as some books I’ve read (and the story not as dark), but there was no confusing him with a good guy. He’s the kind of hero (well, anti hero) that you will lust for, empathise with… I guarantee that you will fall in love with this beautiful monster.

The story progresses smoothly. It’s not drawn out, it’s not overly detailed, it’s just the perfect pace. There’s a strength to the writing that I’ve missed… a flow to the narrative that I enjoyed. And of course some surprises along the way. I loved that I did not question it. Usually dark stories are so unbelievable and only the best will convince you that this is the natural response of a captive to her captor. That you, in the same position, might react the same way.

There is no cliff hanger per se, but the book does have a sequel, and I for one, I’m ecstatic. I did not want it to end… I want to see where Julian and Nora’s relationship goes from here. It’s impossible for me to even imagine where Anna Zaires will take this story… but I’m so keen to find out!

4.5 stars!

Amazon Buy LinkTwist Me by Anna Zaires

twist me

I’d like to thank Anna Zaires for providing this ARC for my review.

This entry was posted in Dark Erotica, Dark Romance, Erotica and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Book Review – Twist Me – Anna Zaires

  1. Claudia says:

    I went on amazon to preorder and could not find this book

  2. Sarah says:

    Added this one to my wish list! I’ve been in need of a good dark read myself. Great review!

  3. Pingback: Giveaway – Twist Me by Anna Zaires!!! | Jessy's Book Club

  4. Jacqueline White says:

    I’m just getting into reading dark erotica. This sounds interesting. I’ll add this one to my tbr list.

  5. Susan Moran says:

    My Favorite dark romance/erotica would have to be The Dark Duet!!

Leave a Reply

