Book Review – A Little Too Hot (A Little Too Far #3) – Lisa Desrochers

I absolutely loved the first two books in this series, A Little Too Far and A Little Too Much, so I new I had to get the next book in the series!

Samantha has been kicked out by her mum, so she moves in with her rocker friend Jonathan. She needs to find a job so Jonathan introduces her to his friend Ben, a bar owner. Ben’s bar, Benny’s, usually hires exotic dancers and since Samantha has the look and the moves, she gets the gig. On her very first night, she sees a guy from across the room… Later on, she gets her first private client – Harrison, the same guy who was watching her. They automatically have chemistry, but Harrison is just out of a relationship. Besides, Ben has strict rules for his dancers, no touching and definitely nothing more than dancing. See, Ben doesn’t want his dancers to be confused with strippers, especially since the police are watching…

I really enjoyed the first half of this book. It has Desrocher’s signature writing style that flows so well… plus that slow seduction of when two people meet… the flirting, the subtle touching… combine that with a major shocker and the first half became a definite 5 star.

Unfortunately, the second half did not live up to the excitement of the first. I’m all for being teased by almost kisses and almost touches but at 60 percent this game had gotten old… I just got bored. I mean, the book is called A Little Too Hot! I would be forgiven for assuming that it would get hot at some point, right? Maybe reading so much erotica has spoilt me but I really needed the book to heat up a little bit…

I started thinking that the title was refering not to steam, but to the suspense… See a lot of unexpected drama happens and it became almost like romantic suspense… But even that wasn’t ‘too hot’… Somewhere around 85% things heated up… Finally! But I have to say that the second half was a 2 star for me :/

This is now the first book in this series that did not wow me. Such a pity because I was really looking forward to it. But I will place a disclaimer… If you love contemporary romance where the hero and heroine have sexual tension that doesnt materialize until the very last moment then this is your book..

The lack of steam was my only complaint… well, that and an unmemorable heroine. I went in it knowing that this is not erotica, but also having read the other two books in the series which were much hotter… That being said, I loved Harrison, I loved the shocker in the beginning and I enjoyed the end.

So all in all… 3 stars.

Amazon Buy LinkA Little Too Hot by Lisa Desrochers

a little hot

I’d like to thank William Morrow Impulse for providing this ARC for my review.

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, New Adult and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

