Book Review – Raw – Belle Aurora

It all started with a blurb…

I feel his eyes on me. I see him hiding in plain sight. He watches me.
He makes me feel.
It’s unconventional.
But it’s real.
I’m sure you’re wondering how a person falls in love with their stalker.
So am I.
This isn’t a story.
This is my life.

With a blurb like that and many 5 star reviews I had to read it right?! I couldn’t contain my excitement, TBR list be damned! Then I started the book and it all went downhill from there. Sigh… I don’t know what to say… reviews like this one are the hardest to write. But let’s start with a synopsis.

Lexi is a case worker in Sydney. She works with mostly abandoned kids and she loves her job. She has two really good friends, a comfortable life. The only difference is, she has a stalker. She’s known that someone has been stalking her for about a year. She feels him watching her, but she also – by intuition maybe? – knows he won’t hurt her. One day she comes face to face with her stalker. And he’s hot, tall, tattooed, sex on a stick. He saves her from a near rape and their story begins.

Now comes my, hopefully nuanced review 🙂 I did not enjoy this one. It had such potential, such a good storyline, I expected to be wowed. But it started out so slow I had one of those self given pep talks. Do I want to continue? I decided to go on with it for a number of reasons but mostly because I just had to see if it gets better.

But sigh… Lexi was one of those heroines I absolutely dislike. Everyone kept calling her ‘the smartest person they know’ and I thought, people, you need to make new friends! Very sweet, yes, but she was anything but smart. First of all, who has a stalker for a year and does nothing about it? I don’t even mean report it, just something other than just continuing with life as is.

Secondly, when they do meet, all she wants to do is jump him. And jump him she does, repeatedly, without any knowledge of why he stalks her, what he does for a living, or even what his name is! (he goes by ‘Twitch’ and nothing else). He even says to her…

“You’ve been fucking me for months and you don’t even know my name. Who does that?

Good question! Then finding out what he does, and even though she’s super smart and abhors his kind of trade, she decides to continue sleeping with him, questions to be asked later.

Thing is, I love my dark stories. What makes a captive fall in love with her captor? That psychological element is what pulls me to a story. Like Comfort Food, Captive in the Dark, Confessions Collections… in all these books, I understood the heroine’s choice. These books played with my mind in a good way and I loved it. But Raw? I just did not understand Lexi’s choices…

It just all seemed so unrealistic. And I’ll be the first to ignore holes in storylines and just go with the flow if the book is entertaining enough, but I couldn’t stop rolling my eyes in this one. Then the creme de la creme, his explanation as to why he started stalking her. Really? That was why you searched for a girl for over a year then stalked her for another year?! PLUS he was so so mean to her and she came back for more every darn time. I mean, I got her need to want to fix people, she’s a case worker after all, but she was supposed to be the smart one!

Now I will say the epilogue shocked me. I truly wasn’t expecting that. And bravo to the author for giving me the unexpected. But all in all… not my cuppa.

2.5 stars.

Amazon Buy LinkRaw by Belle Aurora

raw

This entry was posted in Dark Erotica, Dark Romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

