Blog Tour: Book Review – Fighting to Forgive (The Fighting Series Book #2) – JB Salsbury

JB Salsbury’s debut novel, Fighting for Flight wowed me… and after reading Fighting to Forgive, I can only say one thing… she just gets better and better! This story moved me. And it wasn’t just about how emotional the story is, it’s also how beautifully crafted it is… from the main characters to the secondary characters,  from how they meet to how it ends… just beautiful.

This is the story of Blake Daniels. Remember him? His character was introduced to us in Fighting for Flight… 6’2, gorgeous, man-whore, UFL fighter, ridiculous sense of humor…

“Well, fuck me.” Literally. “What’s a girl like you doing in a dirty mind like mine?”

Yeah, him. The book begins with a glimpse of his tortured past… a past that has resulted to his current ways, especially his whoring ways. But fate has other plans, in the form of the UFL CEO’s new assistant, Layla Moorehead. And back to Blake’s sense of humour…

“What’s your name?”

“Layla. Moorehead.”

He throws his head back with a laugh so loud it resonates off the walls. “Fuckin’ A. That’s the best chick name I’ve ever heard.”

“Oh, here we go. I should have known a man like this would have the sense of humor of an eighth grader.

Ha! Can’t help but love Blake! But there are very many sides to Blake. Sides he hides with his humor and his sleeping around. Sides he wants to keep hidden. And though he instantly wants Layla, he starts realizing that she’s everything he’s taught himself not to want. Because of his past, he has the need to protect, and Layla brings out his protectiveness like no other. He knows he should avoid her, but he just can’t walk away…

She’s got an ugly past, a teenage kid who’s working through some crap, and a serious case of the emotional yo-yos. The whole situation screams trouble. Annoyance. Waste of time. But all I hear is Don’t let her go.

And what he feels when he’s with her, unlike anything he’s felt before…

My eyes slide shut, and I’m stuck somewhere between ‘what the fuck’ and ‘there is a God’. Holding her like this, feeling her give herself to me… If I let myself feel what I’m burying deep, I don’t think I’ll ever let her go. Ever.

I loved this book for so many reasons, and I’ll tell you why. First, it’s in the way the story was crafted, the way it’s told, the way it develops… from the time they meet… no insta-love… but detailed in a way that I understood why they were drawn to each other… why he needs to stay away… but at the same time why he needs to protect her… everything about it just tugged at my heartstrings.

Then in comes the details that to me, perfect a story. The humor, the characterization, the conversations… it seemed so real to me. Like I could really go to Las Vegas and bump into this group of friends… I felt at home… comfortable. Thing is, I read so many books about characters that I love, but in no way think they would exist… or other books with such unrealistic characters and conversations. But not this one. Everything about Blake, Layla, their friends… and their stories… felt… realistic. Plausible.

That being said, these two do suffer. So many layers of pain and deception that I don’t want to detail lest I spoil your reading experience. It wasn’t too angsty but it deals with a heavy subject matter… and it will definitely touch you.

Written in both their POVs with a dose of everything I love in a book. I’m going to be recommending this one to everyone I come across. Plus that epilogue? Pure perfection.

5 stars!

Amazon Buy LinkFighting to Forgive by JB Salsbury

fighting

I’d like to thank the author for providing this copy for my review.

To follow the rest of the tour, click HERE.

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blog Tour: Book Review – Fighting to Forgive (The Fighting Series Book #2) – JB Salsbury

  1. Anonymous says:

    I just finished reading this book the other day and thoroughly enjoyed. I feel madly in love with Blake and I am really looking forward to next one.

Leave a Reply

