Blog Tour: Book Review + Excerpt + Giveaway – A Little Too Much – Lisa Desrochers

I absolutely loved A Little Too Far, the first book in this series by Lisa Desrochers. It introduced us to Alessandro, the to-be priest who fell in love and left his calling just days before his ordination. He gets his heart broken and I was one of the many who wanted him to find the love, the happiness he deserves…. and in comes his story in A Little Too Much.

The book is not told in Alessandro’s POV. It’s told in Hilary’s. Remember Hilary? The only girl Alessandro has ever slept with and his best friend at the group home in New York. She still lives in New York. Has her life figured out… well… almost. She dreams about making it big in Broadway. She lives with her boyfriend Brett, who’s more like a friend with benefits 🙂 And while her life is not perfect, she doesn’t need the complication Alessandro brings to it.

Yes, Alessandro tracks her down. Since leaving Rome, he’s decided to come back to New York and atone for his sins. His first? Sleeping with a 14 year old Hilary, and ruining her life – or so he thinks. They soon find out that it’s easier to fall into their old friendship than either of them thought. But Hilary has secrets, deep dark ones that Alessandro can never find out about.

What a beautiful story. Alessandro is the perfect hero. He loves so intensely… even as a little boy he helped heal people… helped heal a broken Hilary.

It wasn’t until later, when he made me feel things I’d never felt before, that I realized sex to Alessandro was more than just physical. He opened me up and saw my black, broken soul, and it didn’t scare him away. He made me believe everything was going to be okay. He helped me understand love.

And years later he’s come back to do the same. Only this time he meets a hardened Hilary. And it’s going to be hard breaking down the barriers she’s erected around her heart. But however hard Hilary tries, she can’t deny her feelings for him.

I think that’s the second I knew I loved him, because in anybody’s arms I felt trapped, but in his, I felt free.

But Hilary can’t have him close. He sees too much. He’ll figure out things he doesn’t need to know. And believe me when I finally found out, it shocked me. I love when that happens, when the author completely blind sides me. And though they go through it all… though they suffer… they belong together… always have.

I roll onto my stomach and lay my head on his chest. His heartbeat is slow and sure and I feel mine begin to slow, synching with his. He’s always been able to do this for me. When we were kids. Now. It’s like he’s the key to my soul.

Sigh. A beautiful love story. It had the right amount of heartache, angst, humor, hope, love … just beautiful. I love Lisa Desrocher’s way of story telling. It’s not just about love and angst… her books are a lesson, a journey. In Book #1 it was a journey to Rome and Roman Art, in book #2, New York 🙂 A definite must-read for lovers of Contemporary Romance.

4.5 stars.

Amazon Buy LinkA Little Too Much by Lisa Desrochers

much

I’d like to thank the author and William Morrow Impulse for providing this ARC for my review.

EXCERPT

When we take the right on Thirty-ninth, Alessandro looks at me and smiles. “The flea market.”

I shoot him a glance. “I’ve heard Hell’s Kitchen is the best. Cool vintage stuff.”

His smile pulls wider. “Good choice. I’ve never been.”

It’s warm for late November—almost seventy. After the cold snap we’ve had for the last few weeks, the streets are crowded with people basking in the sun, soaking up the last bits of warmth before winter hits for real. Many are in sweaters or sweatshirts, but there’s the occasional T-shirt or tank top. I picked my favorite light sweater—white with silver threads through it. It’s got an open neck and is snug without being tight. Alessandro is wearing khaki cargo pants, black army boots, and a snug black T-shirt. And those arms are truly spectacular—lean and long and muscular. Watching his biceps strain the fabric at the hem of the short sleeve, I can’t deny the little part of me that’s dying to run my fingers over those muscles to see if they feel as solid as they look. I want to trace the veins to where they disappear behind brushed cotton.

We cross Ninth Avenue and the market is laid out in front of us. There’s an old metal Coke sign hanging from the canopy over a booth just ahead with a wooden rocking horse below it, and in the booth across the row, I see vintage clothes hanging on racks. Suddenly I feel like a kid in a candy shop. I’m not much of a shopper, but for some reason, vintage stuff gets me all giddy.

We walk all the way to the end to get a feel for the place, and it’s packed full of people wending between the booths, same as we are.

“So I guess this isn’t exactly undiscovered either,” I say, lifting a vintage black fedora off a hat rack and trying it on.

“But you are discovering new things,” Alessandro says, gesturing to the hat.

“Old things,” I counter, looking at myself in the mirror on a table next to the rack.

He moves behind me and smiles into the mirror from over my shoulder. “Old things that are new to you.” He gives the back rim a flick and it drops over my eyes.

And I realize that’s him—something old, from before, that I’m discovering all over again. I lift the hat off my head and drop it on his, taking the opportunity to really look at him. My eyes devour his face; from the dimple at the tip of his chin, over his full red lips and his straight nose, up the curve of his cheekbones to those amazing gray eyes, where my gaze stalls. He’s so similar to the boy I knew, but so different.

When I realize we’re just standing here staring at each other, I clear my throat. “The gangster look works for you.”


GIVEAWAY!!!

 Two winners will get six signed NA or YA books – Signed books by Katy Evans, K.A. Tucker, J. Lynn, Cora Carmack, Victoria Scott, Jay Crownover, Sophie Jordan and Lisa, herself!!! And two winners will get a silver butterfly pendant and swag 🙂

Just click on a Rafflecopter giveaway to enter! Good Luck!

Don’t forget to follow the rest of the tour! Click on the banner for more info…

alittletoomuch

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, New Adult and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Blog Tour: Book Review + Excerpt + Giveaway – A Little Too Much – Lisa Desrochers

  1. kgagnon2013 says:

    I have not read A Little Too Far but it is on my kindle waiting for this release. thanks for the post, I am very excited to read this series!

  2. Marcia Tillman says:

    I have not had the pleasure to read it yet but I plan to real soon. Thanks for the giveaway

  3. Pam says:

    I have not read A Little Too Far yet but it’s on my list.

  4. Melissa Jones says:

    I have it on my kindle, haven’t read yet, but will very soon. Thanks for the giveaway!!!

  5. kp says:

    This book is on my wish list!

  6. I have not read – but would love too!! Thank you for the giveaway!!

  7. Teresa says:

    I loved A Little Too Far! Trent was my favorite but I truly loved Alessandro as well!

  8. I read A Little Too Far and loved it so much! The taboo love triangle was really something for me and I’m really looking forward to hearing more about Alessandro!

  9. Diana Doan says:

    I haven’t read A LITTLE TOO FAR yet, but it’s been on my TBR list! I can’t wait to start it though.

  10. jford733 says:

    I love the cover! Thanks for the giveaway 🙂

  11. The cover looks hot!!! Would love to read this book, thanks!
    Donna Harris

  12. Pingback: Book Review – A Little Too Hot (A Little Too Far #3) – Lisa Desrochers | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

