Book Review – Monica (Songs of Submission) – CD Reiss

I’ve recently discovered new authors, new books, new series and new couples that I’ve fallen in love with. But the Songs of Submission series retains the number one spot. I haven’t felt so connected to a couple as I have Jonathan and Monica. I was uncertain of the serial novella idea but I wouldn’t have it any other way. It’s so beautifully crafted… everything coming together as it should.

When I finished the last book, Sing, I sadly said goodbye to the series. I didn’t want to, was ready to beg CD Reiss to keep the novellas coming… mostly because I felt as though there was so much left to discover about Jonathan and Monica. But I also knew that nothing could leave me sated. CD Reiss could write a hundred more books on them and I’d want her to keep going. So I made my peace with the fact that the series had come to an end, and sadly moved on.

Then I received news of a novella – Monica. I’m not the biggest fan of novellas to begin with, but there was no way I could resist reading about Monica and Jonathan one more time. And boy was it good! The novella takes place in a period found between the chapters of Sing. Between Jonathan leaving the hospital… and the epilogue. I was one of those who felt there was a lot to be said of that period. How did they move from vanilla into kink again? And this novella takes us through that.

Monica and Jonathan are married now, in love. But Jonathan hasn’t been his dominant self in months… and Monica misses it, craves it… but she can’t tell Jonathan. He’s already been through so much.

What man could be expected to keep up Jonathan’s intensity for any length of time? No human could continue to be a raging lion after having their heart ripped out.

Literally. And so she decides to fore-go what she needs. But Jonathan remembers what she needs. He remembers because he needs it himself. He can’t bear her withdrawing from him. So he knows he has to be in control again.

From now on, you step when I say walk. You eat when I feed you. You come when I allow it. If I so much as look at your knees, you get on them and open your fucking mouth.

My favorite book in the series is Control… and this one reads just like it. With the two again embracing their roles as Dominant and submissive… and of course one of the best scenes – their recital of Invictus. Don’t worry, it’s not the same book, but it has the same hurt… the same angst, the same love…. and yet again I was reminded of my love for the series.

It’s in the way I can’t picture these two being any different. In the way they love each other, need each other. They fit each other so perfectly… and their story is so beautifully told. I understood the natural progression into BDSM, at no point do I question it. Monica was made to submit to Jonathan. She needs it, just like he needs it. I would recommend this to seasoned fans of BDSM erotica, but surprisingly, also to those who’ve never given BDSM erotica a try.

4.5 stars.

NB: Monica goes out to the email list on the 15th. So to get a copy, subscribe to CD Reiss’ mailing list here – http://bit.ly/18bj9oD

monica

I’d like to thank the author for providing this copy for my review.

Series reading order which includes the novelas: https://jessysbookclub.wordpress.com/cd-reiss/

Click on these covers for my reviews:

begteasesubmitcontrolburnresistsing

This entry was posted in Erotic Romance, Erotica and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review – Monica (Songs of Submission) – CD Reiss

  1. addictedreader says:

    This was a surprise gift. Terrific review and love the series.

Leave a Reply

