Blog Tour: Book Review + Giveaway – Thief (Love Me With Lies #3) – Tarryn Fisher

I just finished reading Thief and as usual I had to write my review whilst my emotions were still running high…. but I just want to curl up in a ball and allow my heart to heal after the rollercoster of emotions it’s been subjected to. I could make it easier on myself and summarize the book…

♪♫ Right from the start you were a thief, you stole my heart, and I, your willing victim. ♪♪ I let you see the parts of me that weren’t all that pretty, and with every touch you fixed them.♬♫

And while those words sum up an incredible incredible book. I want to do it justice and explain why this book, this series, goes to the top of my favorite books of 2013, favorite books of all time.

In Thief we get Caleb’s voice in this heartbreaking story that begun with Olivia’s side of the story in The Opportunist and then Leah’s in Dirty Red. We finally get the chance to relive the past through Caleb’s eyes but also see how the future will pan out for Olivia and Caleb. The book begins sometime after the end of Book #2, Dirty Red. Caleb is devastated following Leah’s revelation… and worst of all, he’s alone. Olivia is married, he should leave her alone… but he can’t.

She’s mine. She always has been, she always will be. We’ve been running in opposite directions for the last ten years, and we collide at every turn. Sometimes, it’s because we’re looking for each other, other times it’s fate.

And so continues their journey.

This is possibly the most heartbreaking story I’ve ever read. I feel like my heart went through a meat grinder. It had all the tragedy of the Titanic which had me saying a silent prayer for a better ending :/ So devastating a story I worried the author might sadistically end it on a low just to mess with us. But the best thing about Tarryn’s writing is that through all this devastation, there is still that wit, humor and sarcarsm so deeply engrained, that you smile through some of the pain. Crazy right?

I absolutely fell in love with the characters. The best thing is that they are all so flawed. Beautifully flawed. I went through a cycle of hating and liking Olivia. I would find myself saying ‘God, she’s such a bitch’, then she’d do something so me I’d spend the next minutes psycho-analyzing myself, hoping I don’t come across that bitchy 🙂  I also surprisingly forgave Leah some of her insanity in Dirty Red. I, like Freud, thought that she was entitled to some of that craziness as a product of her shitty childhood. But in Thief, I just flat out hated her. She becomes worse if you can believe that. For someone who was already so low, she finds ways to sink even lower… sigh… poor Caleb.

Caleb, the knight in shining armor. The way he loved Olivia…

Forget all you know – I said to myself. This is the one you belong with. I don’t know how I knew that. Maybe our souls touched underneath that tree. Maybe I decided to love her. Maybe love wasn’t our choice. But when I looked at that woman, I saw myself differently.

Only in fiction can a man be this dedicated. Turn bad to win a bad woman. Turn good to fix her. Turn anything to have her. It’s crazy to imagine what their love went through over the years. And it only got stronger. Made itself so large they couldn’t ignore it. That not even all the other players in their story could interfere with what was meant to be.

I know, I know, I know that I am the match and she is the gasoline and without each other we are just two objects void of reaction.

He finally fights for her. He finally tells fate to fuck off. He takes matters in his own hands and does what he should have done in the first place. It was incredibly sad. He suffers, so much so that I hated a world that would make such a good man suffer like that… sigh… Highly recommended. It will make you angry, make you sad, make you smile, make you frown. Easily one of the most beautiful books I’ve ever read.

5 stars.

Amazon Buy Link – Thief by Tarryn Fisher

thief

I’d like to thank the author for providing this copy for my review.

Reading order: 

opportunistdirtythief

GIVEAWAY!!!

Tarryn is giving away:

  • Kindle Paperwhite
  • Penny Necklace
  • 10 LMWL Amazon e-book sets
  • LMWL Bracelet
  • $25 Amazon Gift Card
  • Tree Necklace

Just click on a Rafflecopter giveaway to enter. Good luck!!!!

One more thing, there’s going to be a fan chat with Tarryn Fisher on 10th November (9pm-10pm EST) where you can ask her anything you want 🙂 There will be some trivia questions for giveaways so come prepared with your copy of Thief!

Link –https://www.facebook.com/events/658241007553346/

This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

