Book Review – Ice Queen (Nature of Desire #3) – Joey W. Hill

You know that feeling when you do something and wonder why you’ve never done it before because it feels so good? That’s exactly how I feel about Joey W. Hill books. As soon as I finished Natural Law (Nature of Desire #2), I became a Joey W. Hill addict. I couldn’t wait to fulfill my scheduled blog tasks so that I could finally settle down to what I REALLY wanted to read 🙂 And now that I have, I wonder if I’ll ever read BDSM erotica without comparing it to Joey’s books. For a BDSM erotica fan, I’ve sure been missing the crown jewels of BDSM erotica. And I’ll explain why… after the synopsis 🙂

All the books are structured as stand-alones with recurring characters. So having read book #2, I’d already met Marguerite. She’s earned herself quite a reputation at The Zone, an exclusive BDSM club. They call her the Ice Queen. The Mistress everyone wants to learn from… emulate. However, due to a computer error, it’s discovered that she lacks the mentoring program stipulation required of all Zone Doms, which includes spending a number of hours learning about BDSM from the submissive’s perspective. Which is where Tyler Winterman comes in. If Marguerite is THE Mistress at the Zone, he’s THE Master. To anyone else, these two are as similar as it could possibly get. But Tyler knows better. And when Marguerite chooses him for her training, he sees the prime opportunity to prove to her what he’s always suspected her to be, a switch.

It made no sense at all. Tyler was a sexual Dominant. She was a Dominant. There should be the attraction of mutual admiration but why this? This indefinable, overwhelming feeling?

After reading my first Joey W. Hill book, I declared her my newest addiction. And this book just underscored that fact. It’s the way it’s written, not just erotica, it’s like art… beautiful flowing words that capture the reader, teach the reader, arouse the reader, sometimes shock the reader… and when it’s all said and done, I cursed my job for not allowing me the time to read the entire series in one sitting.

But back to the story. Tyler.. sigh… Tyler. Arrogant, self-aware Tyler.

“You know why you’re fascinated with me, when you’ve had so many pretty boys at your beck and call? Because you’ve never trusted yourself with a man.

Yes, Marguerite has purposely kept herself away from anyone who could challenge her. She has secrets. Scars that she’d prefer to remain hidden. But she feels this unimagibable pull to Tyler. She wants to fight it, she tries to fight it, but just like a knot on a piece of rope, the more she pulls, the tighter the knot becomes. And though she’s so damaged, Tyler wants to fight for her. She’s just… different.

All the miserable things he’d seen, all the things he’d been unable to prevent, had given him what he needed to be the man who could love her and care for her forever. He knew it. He would fight the demons in her dreams for her, give her back her smile as a gift she’d earned a thousand times over. It wasn’t egotism or wishful thinking, he simply knew it as truth. He just had to get her to believe it. When he looked at her he saw his own soul looking back at him, the lost piece of himself.

As an avid BDSM erotica reader, I realized the difference I felt whilst reading this book. It’s the psychology behind it, the way she explores it. The way I finally feel as if every other book concentrated too much on the physical without giving us the psychological aspect of it… it’s not light, so be warned. If you are looking to dip your toes into BDSM erotica, then look elsewhere. But if you truly enjoy the genre, you’ll love it.

NB: This is not a standalone…. Tyler and Marguerite’s story is too complex for one book 🙂 So guess what I’m reading next 😉

4.5 stars.

Amazon Buy Link – Ice Queen by Joey W. Hill

ice queen

This entry was posted in Dark Romance, Erotic Romance, Erotica and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Book Review – Ice Queen (Nature of Desire #3) – Joey W. Hill

  1. Kathy says:

    Can you read Natural Law without having read Holding the Cards(1)?

    • Definitely. They’re a series of standalones with different main characters but with the characters showing up in the other books… not enough to be confusing. I didn’t read Holding the Cards, went straight to Natural Law then Ice Queen which so far is the only one that is not a standalone

  2. Dorothy says:

    I think this my favorite genre. I will be reading this. Hard to find a decent one.

  3. Maggs says:

    I`m currently reading the same book – FANTASTIC!!! Glad I`m on holiday this week as I can`t put it down! I love all Joey Hill`s books. Have you read The Knight`s of the Boardroom series yet? Another great series by Joey I`d highly recommend. 😉

  4. Terry says:

    Call in sick, lock the door and take the phone off the hook!!! You are going to LOVE Mirror of my Soul!!!!! We also get more of Marguerite and Tyler in – Branded Sanctuary. This is Chloe and Brendans story.

    Joey W Hill has wrote books for Contemporary and Paranormal. I have read them all. You are so right about how Joey writes. She not only has the BDSM play but also the psychology. This is the element that takes her stories and characters to a level very few have achieved. Whether it be one of her series books (Vampire Queen, Knights of the Boardroom, Nature of Desire, Arcane Shot, Daughters of Arianne) or one of her stand alone books you will become totally enthralled.

    Joey W Hill also has a forum where she gives the members continuing stories about our beloved characters. Thank the gods because you don’t want their stories to end. One of the stories is Taking off the Gloves which is Marguerite and Tylers story. Here is a link for you to check it out as well as every thing else offered by Joey and the MOB (Mistresses of the Boardroom) ENJOY!!
    http://www.jwhconnection.com/

  5. Suzanne says:

    Great review Jessy!
    The name ‘Joey W Hill’ keeps coming up and I’ve been curious. You’re review just convinced me I’ve got to pick up one of her books!

  6. Betty says:

    I have read every one of Joey’s books, and I can honestly say she is a favorite author of mine. Her books are so well written and they are very hard to put down once you start reading them. I started with Beloved Vampire and I was hooked from there.

  7. Pingback: Book Review – Mirror of My Soul (Nature of Desire #4) – Joey W. Hill | Jessy's Book Club

  8. Pingback: Book Review – Rough Canvas (Nature of Desire #6) – Joey Hill | Jessy's Book Club

  9. Pingback: Rants and Raves – Of Must Read Books… | Jessy's Book Club

Leave a Reply

