Rants and Raves – Of Odes…

Of the Seven Deadly Sins, Sloth has refused to let go of me. I open my blog page ready to rant or rave and end up sleeping, or watching some stupid reality show, the entire time feeling my brains cells dying. Reality shows suck.

That said, today I started reading Sing (Songs of Submission #7) by CD Reiss. I’d started a different Rave, then sloth took over and I decided to have some wine and read instead. Fast forward to reading Sing and I decided on this rave 🙂

Today I declared the Songs of Submission series my favorite series ever. I’d just finished reading a book that everyone loved and I just wasn’t feeling it. I wondered if something is wrong with me. Lately reading has been a bore and mostly because I just can’t find a book I enjoy. Enter Sing and everything changes.

So yes, this is an ode to CD Reiss.

She is brilliant. I received an email from her sometime back telling me that I’d been recommended to her by Becs (of Sinfully Sexy Book Reviews). Becs is awesome and I agree with any review she puts out, so if she thought the series was awesome, I was going to try it.

I started Beg, Book #1 in the Songs of Submission Series. I thought the cover was ridiculously beautiful… (click on the book covers for my reviews.)

beg

… which she does herself… but I also knew it was a novella so I thought why not give it 2 hours. 2 hours later and I was in love with Monica and Jonathan. Jonathan, rich and a Dom, so I admitteldy assumed I would read another Fifty Shades of Grey wanna be. I was so wrong, While it has a billionaire dom and a girl next door type, it also has the most amazing banter. Monica is funny, witty, talented (she’s a singer) and just amazing.

The series also unfolds differently. Jonathan is in love with his ex-wife Jessica. She left him for another man. So he seeks thrills with women. Never gives them more than 3 dates (read: fucks). And Monica is no different… or so he thinks. See, he’s a Dom but he never really seeks out subs. Till he finds out that Monica not only has submissive tendancies, but masochistic ones as well.

Which brings us past book #2 Tease, another beautiful cover by the way…

tease

‘I watched the sun come up through Jonathan’s window, felt his breath on my neck, and thought don’t fall in love don’t fall in love don’t fall in love. I didn’t look at him while he slept. I didn’t stroke the top of his hand where it rested on my belly. I didn’t think about him. Nothing. Not his scent or the sound of his voice. Not his sharp wit or his easy smile. My job there was to enjoy him, and sense sooner rather than later when it was time to move on. That was the only way I would get out intact.’

 

 

… well past Submit (which is so freaking hot!)…

submit

“…how am I supposed to walk away?”

“You can’t. You’re mine. The minute I told you to spread your legs and you did it, you were mine. When I told you to beg for it and you did, you were mine. When you put your hands behind your back without being told, I owned you. You never had to say a word. You’re a natural submissive.’

 

 

… and into Control… my favorite in the series. I loved the entire series but there’s a scene in Control that firmly placed CD Reiss into my favorites section. Click here to read the scene.

control

… he dominated me, and I submitted, letting go of everything I expected of myself. I ceded all control to him, all emotion, all physical boundaries, and in doing so, was able to find sexual honesty. I felt closer to him than I felt to anyone, because he saw parts of me that I didn’t. The quavering, weak, fearful parts of myself that I denied existed, he brought out and caressed.

 

 

 

EL James brought out erotica/erotic romance from the ‘taboo’ into the accepted. A lot of authors followed that up and tried to make something of it. A few succeeded, but in my eyes, CD Reiss took it all and turned it into literary erotica. I’m I fan girling? Yes! Not even going to deny it 🙂

Fast forward to Burn...

burn sos

“Touch me, Jonathan. Please.”

“Commit yourself to me,” he said.

“Oh, God. Don’t-”

“Commit. Yourself. To. Me.” He said softly and firmly, half whisper, half scream.

“I’m yours. Touch me.”

“You don’t even know what you’re promising… I can’t watch you walk away again. If you commit yourself, you’re mine. You will set the limits and I will honor them. You will be exclusive to me. You will submit yourself to me sexually. Completely.”

Then Resist

resist

“Hurt me,” I whispered.

“Monica, that’s not what I mean.”

“Ruin me.”

“Stop.”

I stepped forward. “Destroy me, Jonathan.”

He cursed under his breath and pushed his lips to mine… I groaned into his mouth. “Take me. Own me. Use me. Pick a verb. Just, please.”

“Fuck you. I’m going to fuck you. That’s my verb.”

..and now the last book in the series… Sing… (click here for an exclusive excerpt and giveaway)

sing

“Goddess,” he said, his breath on my mouth, “Have me, please. I was wrong. You’re not the sea under my sky. You are the sun I revolve around, the stars that mark me, the moon rising through me. I’m lost without you. And if you won’t have me, I’ll break, I swear to God. I know it’s selfish , and I’m sorry. Let me serve you. Have me as yours.

 

 

 

And other than the amazingly witty banter, we also get the steam…

sexy gif

… the angst…

my emotions

and the cliffhangers…

OH MY GOD

BEST.SERIES.EVER.

*Click here for the reading order.

This entry was posted in Erotic Romance, Erotica and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Rants and Raves – Of Odes…

  1. Lynette says:

    Love the rave today Jessy! These have been in my TBR pile, but just waiting for them all to be out. Is Sing the last one with no more cliffhangers? 🙂

  2. Morgan C. says:

    YES! I agree with everything you said. I have an almost unhealthy obsession with CD Reiss. Yes, I will admit this. There’s no shame in my game. Ha.
    This is my absolute favorite series. I wish it could go on forever!

  3. Cindy (aka Book whore) says:

    I agree, best books ever. Can’t wait for the last book.

  4. Madeleine Richards says:

    I will be sorry to see this series come to an end, I’VE LOVED EVERY MINUTE OF IT. C.
    D. Reiss is a very talented author. While I’m sure whatever direction her next novel or series takes will be stunning, I am keeping this series in my permanent library to read over and over again. C.D. Reiss had made me a dedicated follower and none of her new releases will go unread.

  5. I agree with everything you say (even down to disliking book(s) that have received rave reviews). This series is by FAR my favorite erotica series, hands down. Maybe romantic series as well. So well written, and they get you in the gut…I know no other way to put it. So looking forward to Sing. 🙂

  6. April D says:

    I have never looked more forward to a book than I am looking forward to reading Sing. CD Reiss is, by far, the best erotica writer I have ever been lucky enough to come across.

  7. malinda0425 says:

    I haven’t started this series but your review puts this on my “gotta get it, gotta read it” list. Thanks!!

  8. Jackie says:

    Great Review, I brought the “Beg” “Tease” and “Submit” 2 weeks ago and put them on my TBR list on Goodreads… I will be moving them up to the # 1 spot and I’ll be buying the rest of the series today including “Sing” Thanks !!!

  9. Jacqueline White says:

    I stumbled upon this series and fell in love from the first book and then bought the entire series. I too am shameless in love with CD Reiss. Although I am waiting with held breathe for Sing to arrive and am currently re-reading the entire series, I don’t want to end. I don’t want to leave these characters and have to fall in love all over again with others. She’s in my top five. And this by far is the best series I’ve read.

Leave a Reply

